Meditation Monday: An Attitude of Humility

Yes, I know I am a day late, but better late than never.

Philippians 2:3-4 (NKJ): Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself. Let each of you look out not only for his own interests, but also for the interests of others.

The world screams for us to look out for number one.  God reminds us over and over again that we should strive to put others above ourselves (…better than himself).  As a mother, putting my children’s needs above my own, comes naturally.  This is not so with others, sometimes even my own husband.  Humbleness such as this results in unity.  Unity in our families; unity in our relationships; unity in the church.

If we are to be true disciples of Jesus Christ then we must seek to maintain unity with other believers in our thoughts, attitudes, love, spirit, and purpose.  We must recognize that a separatist ‘right to one’s own opinion’ is not a biblical teaching.  Furthermore, we must surrender such arrogance for the sake of unity in the body of Christ. –Spirit Filled Life Bible (Truth in Action)

This smacks me right in the face, especially, “the right one’s opinion is not a biblical teaching.”  I know it surprises none that I tend to have a lot of opinions.  When I feel strongly about something I usually fight to the death.  A wise woman just reminded me that God says the wise know that sometimes less is more.  I had just read a scripture on this very thing, so I know God was speaking through this person.  Unfortunately, I am unable to remember the exact scripture reference and despite 2 hours of searching, I came up empty.  Good news; there are numerous scriptures referring to this very topic.  One of my favorites:

Proverbs 10: 19 (NKJ): In the multitude of words sin is not lacking, But he who restrains his lips is wise.

Jesus was the greatest example of humbleness

 Phillipians 2:5-8 (NKJ): Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus, who, being in the form of God, did not consider it robbery to be equal with God, but made Himself of no reputation, taking the form of a bondservant, and coming in the likeness of men. And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself and became obedient to the point of death, even the death of the cross.

My friends, we too, must strive for Christ’s attitude of unselfishness, love, humility, servanthood, and (of course) obedience.

No, our salvation is not dependent upon these works, but maybe, just maybe, someone’s salvation depends on how we testify to Jesus.  Remember our lives are our testimonies.  Others may very well look to us, and our lives can either lead others to Jesus or away from Him.

Please know I’m not preaching from my soap box.  God is speaking directly to me.  I have ruined my testimony for Christ more times than I can count. However, I refuse to give up; I refuse to give in.  I continue to grow; I continue to seek.

Be Blessed and Be a Blessing,

Missy

 

Leave a Reply

