Thankful Thursday: February 2, 2017

Are you having trouble being thankful today?

Last time, we discussed how having an attitude of gratitude will help us get and keep a Godly mindset.  Well, I think God is holding my feet to the fire on this one as we received some pretty upsetting news yesterday.

Man, it is a whole lot easier praising God and giving thanks when things are going our way.  However, today, I’m choosing to hold on to the Word of God and give thanks despite my circumstances.  Today, I’m looking and trusting in His Word.

1 Thessalonians 5:18: Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus. (NLT)

Philippians 4:6: Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. (NLT)

Psalm 28:7: The Lord is my strength and shield. I trust him with all my heart. He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy. I burst out in songs of thanksgiving. (NLT)

While I’m not yet feeling like bursting out with song, I do have a lot in my life to be grateful for:

I’m healthy; I have a home; I have a husband who loves and supports me; I have great children who are walking in the ways of the Lord; I have strong Christian friends who help guide me and hold my “crazy” at bay; I have plenty to eat; and I am free to worship my Lord.

So, how about you?  What are you thankful for today?  It is easy to come up with a list of complaints; He wants to see your list of thanksgivings.

Be Blessed and Be a Blessing,

Missy

 

One thought on “Thankful Thursday: February 2, 2017

  1. What a joy to see how God has deepened your faith and made it rock solid! Your family and community are blessed by your wisdom and faithfulness, Proverbs 31 woman!

Leave a Reply

