Choose Peace (Getting and Keeping a Godly Mindset Day 2 of 4)

Psalms 34:14 (NKJ): Depart from evil and do good; seek peace and pursue it.

Are you easily upset? Are you unhappy with how you react to negative circumstances in your life?  Well, good news, today we will discuss how to choose peace when our day and life does not go as planned.

Last time, we discussed that in order to have and keep a Godly mindset we need to have positive thoughts, attitudes, and atmospheres (click here to view).  Today we will focus on forming a habit of peace with the help, one again, from Joyce Meyer’s book I Dare You.

Form a Habit of Peace

Shamefully, I admit my go-to reaction to trials and problems is anger.  I am a kind of person who is easily upset.  My second reaction is then worry, quickly followed by problem-solving.  I know, I know, not the best qualities for a woman of strong faith.    Truthfully, once I have given God time to work, I can usually find peace in the situation, but this year I am still looking to get ahead of my reactions and emotions.    I am looking to choose peace right from the start.

If you are anything like me, at this point, you are probably be thinking, “Duh… but how?  How can I change something that seems so ingrained in my nature?”  I won’t pretend to have all the answers.  All I can do is share somethings that have been helping me.  Like many areas of Christianity, there is no easy answer here.  Forming a habit of peace takes work.  I have found that while we have a new nature upon salvation, we have to choose to walk in that new nature.

In I Dare You, Joyce Meyer suggests the following in situations where things are not going as planned, when you are tempted to throw up some word vomit, when you are on the brink of giving someone your peace:

Remain calm.  Take deep breaths and leave the room if you need to escape for a moment.

Pray on the spot:  Don’t wait for a better time, pray right then and there.  When you call on His name, he will be there.  He will give you the ability to overcome yourself and the devil.

Maintain self-control; Say “Yes” to God and “no” to the flesh.    Make the choice not to react negatively.

Romans 8:13 (NKJ): For if you live according to the flesh you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live. 

I know it doesn’t feel like it, but we have control over our reactions.  We choose to get angry; we choose to yell; we choose…we choose….we choose.  We just need to choose better.

I would add:

Meditate on His Word-Jesus defeated Satan by quoting scripture.  We must know the Word of God, so we have truths to cling to when the trials, problems, and temptations come.  Furthermore, the more we are in His Word, the closer we are to Him, and the closer we desire to live out our faith.

Call upon the power of Holy Spirit through Jesus Christ.  I know I have used this many times as an example, but I believe in it.  When you are in a situation and you feel out of control, call out Jesus’ name.  You see, when we call out to Jesus He is there and the devil must flee.  You will be amazed by the power of this seemingly little action.  I got this piece of advice from Lysa TerKeurst (one of her books, not her personally..lol), and let me just say I know it works because I have used it many times.

If you ask my kids what is one of my bad qualities, they most certainly would answer, “She yells a lot.”  Now, this is something I am consciously working on.  I am not perfect, and I still have my moments, but I am better than I used to be.  Well, I am better when I choose to be.

For example when I feel I am about to explode, I simply say “Jesus, Jesus,” until I feel the calm come.  If I have already let loose and word vomit is flying out of my mouth, I try to regain control, by simply saying, “Jesus, Jesus.”  Let me just testify that it is very hard to keep screaming all the while saying “Jesus, Jesus.”  It works when I let it.  It works when I choose to do it.

Joyce reminds me that when we remain peaceful in the hard times, we disarm the devil.  How can he use someone who refuses to get upset?  Keeping our peace also shows we trust God.  Remember the battle belongs to God (2 Chronicles 20:15), so keep your peace and trust Him.

Be Blessed and Be a Blessing,

Missy

One thought on “Choose Peace (Getting and Keeping a Godly Mindset Day 2 of 4)

Leave a Reply

