The Crazy Love Test

If God assessed your life right now, would He call you loving?

Biblical love is the utmost importance to God.  Our lives are measured by our love:

1 Corinthians 13:1-3

Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal. And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned,[a]but have not love, it profits me nothing.

God’s desire for us to love biblically cannot be ignored.  It is clear if we do everything else, but do not love we are nothing and do nothing.  Yes, in America today, the word “love” is overused and misconstrued, but it does not invalidate God’s directive for us to love.

I have a little “love test” taken from Crazy Love by Francis Chan.  It really is eye-opening.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8:

Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.  Love never fails.

Here is the challenge, and I promise it will be convicting:  Take each verse and replace your name with the word “love.”

Missy suffers long and is kind; Missy does not envy; Missy does not parade herself, is not puffed up.  Missy does not behave rudely, does not seek her own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; Missy does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; Missy bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endure all things.  Missy never fails.

Now, don’t you feel like a liar.  I know I sure do.

What I learned today is that I clearly do not love people as well as I thought or should.  I am thankful to Mr. Chan for this eye-opening exercise, and I encourage you all to get a copy of his book Crazy Love.

Be Blessed and Be a Blessing,

Missy

 

Leave a Reply

