Truth and Dare

Who remember the game Truth or Dare?

Yes, this is not a game I want my 11 year old playing, but last week I caught her and a friend playing the game with friends on their phones (what can’t they do with those phones?)  I quickly informed her that she was not to play that game.  But she yelled out…it is the good form…we only do good dares.

Good dares?  Is there such a thing?

Well, we are going to find out.

Truth:  Jesus commanded us to take His Gospel to all nations.  As disciples, it is up to us to tell other the Gospel and teach them to follow the ways of Jesus Christ.

Matthew 28:18-20:

Jesus came and told his disciples, “I have been given all authority in heaven and on earth. 19 Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations,[a] baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. 20 Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

We are called, but how many are doing?  Honestly, I am not great about sharing my faith.

“We live in America.  Jesus is not a new person or new concept.  I don’t like to shove my views done others throats.”

Sound familiar?

The reason so many are flocking to the “new-age” Jesus, is that true disciples of Jesus Christ are failing to live out the command of the Great Commission.

Dare:  Your dare, your mission should you choose it, today, is to talk to one person today about the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  It could be anyone.  Keep your eyes open, I know God will put someone in your path today who really needs what you need to share.

Let me know how it goes.

Be Blessed and Be a Blessing,

Missy

4 thoughts on “Truth and Dare

  1. Very thought-provoking, Missy. Thank you for sharing this!

    One thing I I try to do to make Jesus more relevant to those around me is to try to remember to credit Him for His goodness in my life. For example, if someone tells me I am a nice person (which is nice to hear, but I know how quickly my heart can go astray when left on its own), I try to remember to tell them, “Only because of Jesus! Jesus is my only reason to be nice to you.”

    I think that the reason so many people these days seem to think that God is irrelevant is that they fail to see the connection between God and goodness. If a person thinks he can be good without God, then he immediately becomes more difficult to reach with the good news of the gospel. Why is the gospel “good news” to someone who already considers himself good?

    Usually, any discussion ends abruptly as soon as I tell the other person that Jesus is my only reason to treat them well. But I think that is enough. I have planted a seed. Most people we interact with in this busy world we will see only once, or only rarely. So, if they consider that we don’t have to treat them with dignity, but we choose to do so anyway so that we can honor Jesus, that pebble may lodge in their shoe, to be examined more closely later when they are more ready to deal with it.

    We are just signposts pointing to Jesus. A lot of times, all we need to do is point in the right direction, pray, and trust God for the rest. Then when people want to hear more about the Jesus we love, they already know who to ask because we have planted a seed.

    You are a great blessing to your readers, Missy! Keep up the good work!

    P.S. How did the “Truth or Dare” game turn out? Is there really a good version for kids?

    Hugs,

    Gwennon

    1. Oh, I love your response. It reminds me of something I was heard from the sweetest lady I know. I was telling her I wish I could be more openly loving and she replied, “You can sweet sister, I am able to do through the power of Christ, you have the same power.” It has stuck with me like three years later. Thanks again for sharing. God Bless

Leave a Reply

