Is Laziness Keeping You From Your Purpose?

Has God laid a dream on your heart, shown you your greater purpose, but you are still waiting…and waiting….and waiting?  Do you feel like giving up?  Do you wonder if you  heard God right?  Are you wondering if it is ever going to happen?

 

I would love to give you some uplifting,”keep the faith” kind of message, but that is just not how I roll (evidently).  Why?  Well, I simply share what God gives me.  It appears I may not listen unless he gives it me straight up.  Before we continue, let us refresh ourselves with Psalm 19:12:

Joyful are those you discipline, Lordthose you teach with your instructions.

As you may be aware (from previous writings) I have struggled for a while with a lack of joy and unhappiness.  Lately, I have been trying hard to make some changes in my life.  I realized the lack of joy came from a lack of serving and blessing others.  However, as many of us know, happiness and joy are two different things.  I am starting to get my joy back, but I am still not as happy as I would like to be.  For a month or two, I have really been examining my life to see where my unhappiness lies.  Is it because my children are growing up and I am in a different stage in my parenting (One child in college, another about to go off in the fall)?  Am I unhappy in my marriage?  Am I happy with my job?  Is it my finances?  And while each of these present problems, my unhappiness does not seem to stem from these issues.

After some deep soul-searching and prayer, God spoke to me and revealed my unhappiness comes from the fact that I am not seeing much evidence of the dreams/purpose God laid on my heart over three years ago.  Some days it seems I am further away from my purpose than I was three years ago.  And this morning he hit me a hammer:

You have been lazy!

What?  Me lazy….how can that be?  I am the busiest person I know.

But the truth is I have been lazy with spiritual matters.  I haven’t been in His Word nearly enough…or just enough to say I put in my time.  And we all know I have not been writing enough, not even a little bit close enough.

Joyce Meyer writes in her book  I Dare You:

Lazy people are unhappy and they don’t understand why.  The reason they are unhappy is because God did not create them in such a marvelous and magnificent way just so they could sit around and do nothing, bearing no good fruit.

No, these are not direct words from God or the Bible, but God smacked me with them the same.  For some reading this today, God is speaking to you as well.

Yes, there are times we are to wait on the Lord.  Yes, God gives us the power to live out our purpose and to live out His Word, but he won’t, and I repeat, won’t, do it all for us.  We have to walk out our faith.  We have to walk in obedience to the Word.  We have to be active….even when we are waiting.  We stay active by studying His Word, blessing and serving others, praying, laying hands on people, and, for us writers, writing (even if no one is reading).

We have to be ready when God gives us the green light.  After all, God cannot drive a parked car-Joyce Meyer

Think of the parable of the 10 virgins:

Matthew 25:1-13: 

“Then the Kingdom of Heaven will be like ten bridesmaids[a] who took their lamps and went to meet the bridegroom. Five of them were foolish, and five were wise. The five who were foolish didn’t take enough olive oil for their lamps, but the other five were wise enough to take along extra oil. When the bridegroom was delayed, they all became drowsy and fell asleep.  “At midnight they were roused by the shout, ‘Look, the bridegroom is coming! Come out and meet him!’  “All the bridesmaids got up and prepared their lamps. Then the five foolish ones asked the others, ‘Please give us some of your oil because our lamps are going out.’ “But the others replied, ‘We don’t have enough for all of us. Go to a shop and buy some for yourselves.’  10 “But while they were gone to buy oil, the bridegroom came. Then those who were ready went in with him to the marriage feast, and the door was locked. 11 Later, when the other five bridesmaids returned, they stood outside, calling, ‘Lord! Lord! Open the door for us!’  12 “But he called back, ‘Believe me, I don’t know you!’  13 “So you, too, must keep watch! For you do not know the day or hour of my return.

The five wise ones stayed active.  They prepared ahead and brought extra oil.  The five foolish ones did not want to do anything extra.  They were not prepared and they missed Jesus.

Don’t miss your opportunity to see your dreams/purpose being fulfilled because you were lazy.  No, “lazy” is not a nice term.  I could have used passive, but God said “lazy”, so we are going with that one (sorry, not sorry).

Let us stop filling sorry for ourselves…yep, no more pity parties.  No more blame game.  It is time to get honest with ourselves.  Are we doing all that we can?  Are we in His Word?  Are we praying?  Are we serving?  Are we prepared as we can be so that when Jesus calls we are ready?

It is not enough to know what we need to change, we must make the changes.

Be Blessed and Be a Blessing,

Missy

6 thoughts on “Is Laziness Keeping You From Your Purpose?

  1. Wow!!! This was a great post and very needed! Thank you! I have been lazy off and on. I know that I need to be more consistent with writing and serving in God’s kingdom. There are times when my focus is on the wrong thing and distraction comes in. Thank you again for this!

    1. Thanks again. Now, if I could only take my own advice. lol In all seriousness, I am currently writing but I have learned from past mistakes, to get the series done before I post, so I hope you come back next to more consistent postings. God bless!

      1. I totally understand! I am currently trying to be more consistent with posting myself. I’ll def be back to visits, encourage, and support! Blessings to you!!! 😘

      2. No, I am not. I struggle in the technology department and have not yet set up a separate FB page. Obviously, I should really consider doing so. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

