Overcoming a Writing Slump…Jesus Style

Have you ever felt you have lost your voice?

Have you ever felt like this guy?

writing slump 3

Maybe you feel like you have nothing new to say? Maybe you have a lot to say, but you are just not sure how to say it anymore?  Maybe you are overwhelmed by the do’s and don’ts of writing and blogging?  Are you discouraged by your blogging numbers and stats?

I believe that most writers and bloggers come to this point somewhere along their journey…and it is okay…

just so long as we keep on writing.

Many of you may have noticed I don’t blog as often as I used to blog.  I’ll admit it; I am in a writing slump.  It is not that I don’t have anything left to say, I just seem to have lost my voice.  Lately I have been going back and reading my blogs from my first year or so and then comparing them to my writings from this last year or so.  While it is evident I have grown in my knowledge and theology, my blog is just not sounding like “me.”  My writings appear to be more research and study than showing how an ordinary woman learns to apply spiritual truths to everyday life.

My apologies.  I do appreciate that many of you still visit on a regular basis and I look forward to getting back in the swing of things.

As many of you know….I love rules…..I love things that are black and white……I love knowing what is wrong, what is rights……and I LOVE, LOVE, lists and plans!!!!  So guess what?  I have come up with a plan, a solution, and guideline for getting me back to me:

First and foremost, I will focus on my relationship with God.  I can’t write about Him without Him.  When my relationship with God is off, all my relationships are off….even the blogger/reader relationship.  Also, God is my motivation to write.  When I am in love with God, I am on fire for God, and my writing is on fire or at the very least has the most impact on you my readers.

I will cover my writing in prayer.  Sometimes I can forget that prayer helps even with writing slumps.  If I allow Holy Spirit to lead and seek God through prayer, I will be given the words to write.  You guys might want to pray that I figure out how to make my writing shorter (ha, ha, ha), because it will only be done by the power of God!

I will study and read.  I can’t share if I have nothing to share.  I may not have new ideas, but I can certainly share others’ ideas.

I will remember that numbers and stats are not my goal.  My goal is share my experiences, feelings, and what I gleam from my studies and books.  Even if no one reads my writing, at least I will grow from writing it.

I will recognize my audience.  My intended audience is ordinary women looking to draw closer to God.  Lately, I admit, when writing I envision a grouchy Christian reading my writing waiting to pounce on every mistake or possible mistake.  Shamefully, this has hindered my writing and has robbed my joy.  I spend way too much time researching every sentence and it is exhausting.  I forgot that most who read my blog are not reading for my great theology (most have their own pastors and such) they ae  reading to share in common experiences,thoughts, and feelings.

I will stop reading and studying on “How to Be a Better Blogger” and such.  Why?  Well, what works for some does not work for others.  Furthermore, I can’t be me if I am trying to follow some stupid formula.  Will I be as successful?  Maybe not but I will be me.  P.s.  I get more hits when I don’t write or post at all….so tell me again these formulas work!

I will write even if I don’t feel like it and even if it isn’t planned.  Ever since I quit my full-time job and do not sit in front of a computer all day, finding the time and discipline to write has been hard.  I am a substitute teacher, so I don’t know what I will be doing day-to-day, which for a “planner” makes life messy.  I do much better with…”I will write from 8-10 Am, Mon-Fri.”  This of course, does not work in my life right now….but summer is coming and thus a normal schedule can resume.  But I will still have this problem next year when school resumes.  I guess I haven’t got it all figured out just yet…..I will have to spend some time on my knees on this one.  I’ll let you know what God comes up with for me.

While this post seems to be all about me….and it is….maybe, just maybe, my fellow writers, speakers, teachers, etc. can find a little something in there for them.  Hopefully, you, my readers, will stick around a while longer while I find myself again.  I look forward to getting to know you all over again.

Oh, and that short series on giants is still coming….keep checking back.

Be Blessed and Be a Blessing,

Missy

 

 

3 thoughts on “Overcoming a Writing Slump…Jesus Style

  1. Very helpful!!! I started a blog years ago and got discouraged when no one commented or liked anything. So, I stopped writing. I also think that it was because maybe it wasn’t the right time for me. This time, it’s for his glory and not mine. I vowed to write regardless of any recognition. Thank you for posting!

Leave a Reply

