Holy Week: Day 5: The Last Supper

Ah, Maundy Thursday, the day set aside to remember and reflect the Last Supper.

I can’t help but think….What was going on in Jesus’ mind?  These thirteen men have just spent the last three years ministering side by side.  The stories, the laughter, and maybe even tears these men must have shared.  Now, not only is that coming to an end, but one will betray Him, and all but one will abandon Him (at least for a time).  However, once again, Jesus did not let His own thoughts/feelings get in the way of what He was called to do.

So, what did they do during their final time together?  What were Jesus’ final teachings to the disciples?  Well, I’m glad you asked.

Love One Another

Jesus Washes His Disciples Feet: John 13:1-17

Once again reminding us that Jesus was a King like no other. How many Kings do you know who would humble themselves like that?

Humbleness is a quality in Jesus that no many like.   We tend to want our leaders to be strong, powerful, and mighty.  In reality, Jesus is all of those things, just wrapped in a different package.  Honestly, the best leaders I have ever had are the ones who have humbled themselves.  My pastor is a great example of this.  There is not one job in the church that is too low for her to do.  Even on most Sundays you will find her fixing the Sunday evening meal after teaching the teens in the morning, preaching, and, yet, still have to run the kids’ program in the evening.  Sometimes this bothers me because as a Pastor she should not have to do all that she does.  However, being humble is just who she is; she has allowed her love for Jesus to change her from the inside out and “feet washing” is just a way to minister, a way to show Christ’s love.

A New Commandment: John 13:31-35:

Now, this verse has been used many times against Christians, implying that in order to “love” we must accept everything a person does.  This is not the time and place to get into that, just be reminded that we are called to love our brothers and sisters THE WAY THAT JESUS DID!!!!  Don’t look at how the world defines love, look at how Jesus defines love: wash feet, feed the hungry, heal the sick, and on and on.

The True Vine (John 15: 1-8): 

A relationship with the Lord is an absolute!  Wait for the signifigance…it is coming

Love and Joy Perfected ( John 15:9-17):

If we remain attached to the Vine; if we abide in Christ’s love and follow His commandments, we will have the strength to love like Christ.  Please notice vs. 10:

10 If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love, just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love.

Keeping God’s commandments gave Jesus His ability to do what needed done.  You can’t tell me obedience to the Word has no effect on our relationship with God and is not important to our daily walk.

Jesus Tells Disciples of What is to Come

I have never understood, why the disciples were surprised at the events to come.  After all, Jesus told them and told them.  It is almost as maddening as those whining Israelites.   Duh….here’s your sign!!!

The Way the Truth and the Life (John 14:1-6):

Not only, did Jesus hint as what was to come, we glean some great insight:  the only way to God is through Jesus Christ.

The Father Revealed (John 14:7-14)
This gives me great hope as it says that if I believe in Christ and the works He has done, I will able to do greater works than Him. It further states that anything I ask in His name will be done as to glorify the Father. I take that to mean anything I ask in Jesus’ name that will glorify the Father will be done.

Jesus Promises Another Helper (John 14:15-18)

15 “If you love Me, keep[d] My commandments. 16 And I will pray the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever— 17 the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him; but you know Him, for He dwells with you and will be in you. 18 I will not leave you orphans; I will come to you.

Yes!!! The Holy Spirit is coming!!  Did you notice the emphasis on the obedience part….just saying….but not saying….

Indwelling of the Father and the Son (John 14:19-25)

The Gift of His Peace (John 14:25-31)

The World’s Hatred (John 15:18-25)

This gives me encouragement when others attack or make fun of me for my beliefs. In this day and age, Christianity seems to be like the least tolerated, but it should not surprise us.  They hated Jesus; they will hate us.

The Coming Rejection (John 15: 26-27)

The Work of the Holy Spirit (John 16:5-15)

Sorrow Will Turn to Joy (John 16:16-24)

16 “A little while, and you will not see Me; and again a little while, and you will see Me, because I go to the Father.” 17 Then some of His disciples said among themselves, “What is this that He says to us, ‘A little while, and you will not see Me; and again a little while, and you will see Me’; and,‘because I go to the Father’?” 18 They said therefore, “What is this that He says, ‘A little while’? We do not know what He is saying.” 19 Now Jesus knew that they desired to ask Him, and He said to them, “Are you inquiring among yourselves about what I said, ‘A little while, and you will not see Me; and again a little while, and you will see Me’? 20 Most assuredly, I say to you that you will weep and lament, but the world will rejoice; and you will be sorrowful, but your sorrow will be turned into joy. 21 A woman, when she is in labor, has sorrow because her hour has come; but as soon as she has given birth to the child, she no longer remembers the anguish, for joy that a human being has been born into the world. 22 Therefore you now have sorrow; but I will see you again and your heart will rejoice, and your joy no one will take from you. 23 “And in that day you will ask Me nothing. Most assuredly, I say to you, whatever you ask the Father in My name He will give you. 24 Until now you have asked nothing in My name. Ask, and you will receive, that your joy may be full.

Did they not remember this come Friday through Sunday?  It seems it would have rung some kind of bell.  SMH!

Maundy Thursday: First Communion

Matthew 26:26- (NKJ):
26 And as they were eating, Jesus took bread, blessed[b] and broke it, and gave it to the disciples and said, “Take, eat; this is My body.”
27 Then He took the cup, and gave thanks, and gave it to them, saying, “Drink from it, all of you. 28 For this is My blood of the new[c] covenant, which is shed for many for the remission of sins. 29 But I say to you, I will not drink of this fruit of the vine from now on until that day when I drink it new with you in My Father’s kingdom.”
30 And when they had sung a hymn, they went out to the Mount of Olives.

Next time, we will take a closer look at the betrayals, the time in the garden, and of course, the death of Jesus Christ.

Blessings,

Missy

 

 

Leave a Reply

