Holy Week: Day Three: Tuesday Teachings (Part 2 of 2)

Holy Week: Day 3: Tuesday (con’t)

To say Jesus taught a lot during His last Tuesday (of his earthly ministry) is an UNDERSTATMENT!!!!  And, yes, while it is a lot to taken in; it is very important.

Warning Against the Teachers of the Law

Mark 12:38-40 ;

Matthew 23:1- 40

Boy did Jesus ever let those Pharisees have it!  It is not hard to see the righteous anger that Jesus has towards the behavior of the Pharisees.  It is easy to separate ourselves from the Pharisees because they rejected Jesus and we have accepted him, but if we look closely at our own lives we may just be able to see some Pharisee-type behavior.  Using the scripture above (and please click on the link to read the verses) I can up with a checklist for myself:

1. Your inside matters more than your outside: don’t try to pretend to be better than you are, don’t put on fancy clothes and such to appear better than you are, don’t do things in God’s name to look good in others’ eyes;
2. Practice what you preach;
3. Serve-wash feet, help the needy, scrub the toilets, do whatever needs to be done and do it for God’s glory not your own;
4. Be humble-if you are not, God will humble you and I promise you are not going to like it (v. 12)
5. Do not add extra laws, rules, and regulations to God’s word as this not only hinders your relationship with God, but makes it harder for others to come to Christ;
6. Love God first and foremost: When you truly love God above all else, you will love your neighbor, you will strive to walk in obedience to the law, not because you have to but because you want to honor God.

In Mark, after he warns of the Pharisees, he talks money. Boy, he sure didn’t beat around the bush his last week!

The Widow’s Offering (Mark 12-41-45)

This is an easy reminder that God wants us to give Him everything. Others were giving of their wealth or what they had left over after their expenses were met. This woman gave everything and that is what God wants from us.

Easier said than done, huh?

Jesus takes another big stand when he lets the Jews know about the destruction of the temple. Let’s just say He knew this wasn’t going to be a crowd pleaser. He then goes on to speak of the End times.

The Destruction of the Temple and Signs of the End Times (Mark 13: 1-37)

Once again Jesus makes a point to discuss the importance of accepting Him and accepting Him now. There will come a time it will be too late. He even gives three more parables just in case we missed the significance.

[Yes, I know there was a lot there, but for the sake of this study, I think Jesus’ words say it best]

The Parable of the Ten Virgins & The Parable of the Bags of Gold (Matthew 25: 1-30)

The Sheep and the Goats (Matthew 25:31-46):

31 “When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his glorious throne. 32 All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. 33 He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.
34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’
37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’
40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’
41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43 I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’
44 “They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’
45 “He will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’
46 “Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”

This last one is EXTREMELY important.  How will God separate the sheep from the goats?  His sheep are the ones who feed the hungry, give drink to the thirsty, give shelter to the homeless, clothe the clothless, visit the sick, minister to those in prison….sheep do for others!!!

The Anointing at Bethany (Mark 14:3-9)

It was customary for this “anointing” to be done by the hostesses.  This clearly shows how lowly these people thought of Jesus.  Then they get upset when a lowly woman comes to do what they should have done in the first place?  Crazy.  Don’t let yourself get to prideful that you begin to think of yourself above certain tasks and don’t think so lowly of yourself that you can be of any use to Jesus.

 

 

Now, some of you may be wondering why we have mainly stayed in Matthew and Mark when there are two other Gospels. Well, the truth is that Luke is just a copy of the stories in Matthew and Mark. John’s timeline is a little harder to follow and doesn’t have much of the Holy Week details.

Some teachings of Jesus recorded in John during the Holy Week included the following:

Jesus Predicts His Death (John 12:20-50)

I have never truly understood how the disciples and others were still surprised at the events on Thursday evening through Sunday.  SMH.  He spells it all our right here.  Anyway, we will touch more on that later.

Overall, it seems to me that Jesus hits the most on accepting Him as the Son of God.  While he hits on many other topics, it all comes back to his mission: to save.  He wanted to convert as many as He could before He left.  For me this is a wake up call. As a Christian this should be my primary mission. I am big on discipleship. I am big on obedience. However, these things come only after one accepts Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior. I have been hearing God for some time telling me to know my audience. If I am speaking to unsaved people, I don’t want to teach on obedience. I want to preach on the Good News of Jesus Christ because it is only after a person has a relationship with Jesus and after they have received the Holy Spirit that they are able to understand and appreciate the importance of obedience and discipleship.

Join me tomorrow to find out what happened next during Jesus’ final week of earthly missions.

Blessings,

Missy

 

Leave a Reply

