Examining Unanswered Prayers (3 of 3)

Are you frustrated with unanswered prayers?  Are unanswered prayers trying your faith?  Are you looking for answers?

Well, I certainly do not have all the answers, but in this mini-series, I do believe there are three question we can ask ourselves that may lead to some answers.

  1.  Are my motives Godly?
  2. Do my words support my prayers and reflect by belief?
  3. Am I seeking the will of God?

**Click here and here to look at previous post that cover questions 1 & 2.**

Today we will look at question 3:

Am I seeking the will of God?

Let’s face it; we can do everything right and there still may be prayers that go unanswered.  Better yet, these prayers are not really unanswered; God’s answer is simply “no.”  Sometimes we just have to accept that what we are praying for is not the will of God.  Sometimes, God’s “no” is not because of something you have done, not done, or will do.  Your prayer request may simply not be good for you or someone else.

How many times have we prayed for something that never came to fruition, only to find out later it would have made our lives worse and not better?  The song, Unanswered Prayer by Garth Brooks immediately comes to my mind.  Anyway, I remember reading a story in a book or hearing it in a sermon where someone was praying for some kind of Biblical retreat.  One by one guests canceled, leaving the hopeful-hostess confused and a little angry.  Weeks later at the funeral of the hostess’ father, someone mentioned this was to be the day of the retreat.  Immediately, this  person knew why God had said “no.” and she really began to trust that God knew what He was doing.

1 John 5:14 (NKJ):  Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us.

Did you catch that “according to His will” part?  Yeah, I know, that part is often skipped in most sermons.

Ultimately, despite our best efforts, God’s will prevails.  So, if you have prayers not coming to fruition, maybe it is time you ask God to clarify His will for you.  You may even have to ask Him to change your heart.

Or,…..maybe your just need to just keep on praying.  God likes to test our faith.  God likes us on our knees.  The Bible is full of verses about continued prayer:

Furthermore, this scripture comes to mind as well:

Luke 18:1-43 : And he told them a parable to the effect that they ought always to pray and not lose heart. He said, “In a certain city there was a judge who neither feared God nor respected man. And there was a widow in that city who kept coming to him and saying, ‘Give me justice against my adversary.’ For a while he refused, but afterward he said to himself, ‘Though I neither fear God nor respect man, yet because this widow keeps bothering me, I will give her justice, so that she will not beat me down by her continual coming.’”

Sometimes, we just need to persevere and keep believing, no matter the circumstances.

It my not be God’s will now, but it will be and God is using the here and now to prepare you and equip you for what is to come.

Last year I got quite discouraged when a full-ride scholarship did not come through for my valedictorian daughter.  I felt God let us down.  I have come to realize that God is trying to teach us some things  in our finances.  I believe he couldn’t trust what we would do with that”extra” money, so He allowed us to learn the hard way.

Once again, God knows best.  Maybe, just maybe, we ought to start listening better and quicker.  After all, as Joyce says, “If God wanted us to talk more, He would have given us two mouths and only one ear.”

So, how can we know if it is not the will of God and we need to move on or if we should keep on praying?  Well, if you have asked God to change your heart to match His will and you still feel the want, desire, or need for what you are seeking, then I believe you should keep on praying and keep believing God will answer when the time is right.

Be blessed and be a blessing,

Missy

Leave a Reply

