Is Your Mouth Saved?


What if I asked you this question: Is your mouth saved?

Would you honestly take the time to contemplate the question or would you simply blow it off because it seems ridiculous?

How about if I asked you this:  If you were to meet someone new today, would he or she be able to tell you are saved by what comes out of your mouth?

Hmmm.not so easy to blow me off now is it?

There is power in the name of Jesus, but there is also power in the tongue.  The power of the tongue can be used for good or evil…the choice is all ours.

James 1:26:  If anyone among you thinks he is religious, but does not bridle his tongue, but deceives his own heart, this person’s religion is useless.

I think we could all use this reminder every day.  Especially those of us who think we are “spiritually mature,” yet continue to spout out criticism, judgment, and negativity.  Now, I’m not talking worldly judgment, speaking the truth of God’s Word, but rather judgment that tears down and condemns.

We simply cannot keep going around cursing men/women with the same mouth we praise God.

James 3:10  Out of the same mouth proceed blessing and cursing.  My brethren, this ought not be.  Does a spring send forth fresh water and bitter from the same opening? Can a fig tree bear olives or a grapevine bear figs? Thus no spring yields both saltwater and fresh.

What we say, how we say it is important as it is a true indication of what is in our hearts.  If our mouth isn’t pointing toward salvation, what does that say about the condition of our heart?

This week’s verse is sure to become a fast favorite and maybe even my go-to verse for 2016:

Psalm 19:14- Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in your sight.

This is what I want and need to be waking up and saying each and every day.  As we all know Satan takes a vacation when my mouth gets going because my mouth does his work for him.  Well, I think it is better said in the past tense, because, by the power of Christ, I will get my tongue under control.

Be a blessing today,

Missy

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

