When Christians Attack….Eachother

This whole “Red Cup” debate has me hiding my face, but not for the obvious reasons.  I am not ashamed of being a Christian.  I will never be ashamed of following Christ, but I am greatly disappointed in some actions and words of my fellow brothers and sisters.

I do not care what side of the line you are on.  I, personally, do not agree that the “red cup” symbolizes a war of Christianity.   I do, however, believe that no Christian should be verbally or otherwise attacking another Christian.  Furthermore, I think it is a sad day for Christianity when pastors are not only attacking another pastor but encouraging hate and backlash.

You may not agree with Joshua Feuerstein or support his style or beliefs, but as a Christian you are to act accordingly to the Word of God.

I John 4:20-21:  If a man say, I love God, and hateth his brother, he is a liar: for he that loveth not his brother whom he hath seen, how can he love God whom he hath not seen?  21 And this commandment have we from him, That he who loveth God love his brother also.

John 13:3-35: A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.  35 By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.

The command for us to love does not just apply to non believers, it applies to everyone, including our brothers and sisters in Christ.

Remember, we are one body, the body of Christ.  Does it make sense for the foot to attack the leg?

Now, I am not saying we all have to agree or there are not times for us to speak our differences.  However, there is never, ever, a time for us to personally attack a fellow brother.  We can disagree, speak our minds and hearts, but remain kind and courteous to one another.

I am appalled at the war now being waged on Joshua Feuerstein.  I have read numerous blogs and watched countless videos of leaders and pastors in the Christian community saying quite ungodly things about this man.  You may not like what he has to say, you may not like his style, you may not like that he seems to “profit” from the internet and from God, but you may absolutely NOT call him names, intentionally humiliate, and otherwise damage him.  This my friends is called bullying, and as Christians we are to rise above such things.  [By the way, if you are a paid pastor, speaker, author, or blogger, you may too profit off the Lord…I’m just saying.]

On a side note, I find it very humorous that those who are appalled of his “ratings” and the fact that he makes money doing what he does are trying to boost their own ratings and popularity (and maybe even financially gain) off attacking Joshua Feuerstein.

Some believe he deserves this backlash because he is a bigot and attacks homosexuals.  This is not only an unfair assumption, it is a flat-out lie.  Joshua Feuerstein does not hate homosexuals.  He does speak against it because he believes the Bible speaks against it.  He does not bully or humiliate them.

As we like to remind non-believers all the time, just because you speak against something does not mean you “hate” them.  So, please understand that I am not speaking about those who are coming out against Joshua’s “War on Christmas”, but rather the hateful and personal attacks coming from his own brothers and sisters.

Christians attacking other Christians is not something new.  There are numerous authors and speakers that are under attack daily.  It saddens me greatly.  Yes, there are differences in theology and denominations, but does that constitute a need for personal attacks?  Just because you don’t agree with someone’s beliefs does that automatically make them a heretic?  Pray about this.

Now, a few weeks ago, I wrote a short series on the Antichrist and the False Prophet.  At times I used Obama and the Pope as examples.  Some have brought to my attention that I personally attacked these people.  I do not believe I attacked Obama or the Pope personally.  I may have spoken about things they have done and said, but I don’t believe I named called or degraded them.  I realize now, I must be more careful with my words because attacks on a person’s character is not Christ-like.  I will continue to speak against Obama if he continues to go against the Bible, but I will be conscience about personal attacks and hateful language.

I do not agree with everything Joshua Feuerstein has said or done, but he is my brother who is speaking out on important issues.  He is willing to take a stand for what he believes despite the hate he receives back.  Not too many of us would be willing to do the same.  Just look at the comments on his blogs; the hate is obvious.  My heart goes out to him.

I will add a link to a blog that captures what I really want to say far better than I ever could: In Defense of Joshua Feuerstein .

With Love,

Missy

 

One thought on “When Christians Attack….Eachother

Leave a Reply

