The Importance of Matthew 25:31-36

I am sure my blog and readers are feeling pretty neglected lately.  I thought this year would be the year I would really focus on my blog and it seems the exact opposite has happened.

That being said, I am currently working on a new ministry that will start-up in January called Sister Christians.  The ministry will include a blog, written by several women with writings on various Christian topics.

I am also in the middle of building up my photography ministry.  In August of this year I began Missy Baroff Photography, where I do photography sessions without set prices.  I ask for donations, whenever financially feasible, but it is not required.  I then apply the donations (after deducting supply fees) to my daughter’s mission trips fund or other worthy causes.

I continue to work as a substitute teacher (although that has been a lot less lately as my schedule has been so hectic) as well.  Working with the children has been more of a blessing than I ever imagined.  It is a great opportunity to get to know the children of my community and show and receive much love.

So, I may be a little more quieter on her than normal, but I am spiritually fine…just busy with ministry and life.

What is my point in all this?

Doing ministry is important.  Yes, I love writing, and writing is one of my ministries.  I love sharing what God has taught me.  I love sharing what I have read in this book or that book.  But we also need to make the time to put into action what we are learning.  We are the hands and feet of Jesus and we need to be doing.

I am not slamming anyone here.  We are all different parts of the body and we all have a job to do.  I am a teacher.  I write and study a lot so that I can write this blog and lead an adult Bible study.  It takes time and preparation.  However, if that is all I am doing, how am I helping the poor, widows, orphans?  Am I taking my teachings to the prisons or hospitals?

Matthew 25:31-36

31 “But when the Son of Man[d] comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, then he will sit upon his glorious throne. 32 All the nations[e] will be gathered in his presence, and he will separate the people as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. 33 He will place the sheep at his right hand and the goats at his left.

34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the Kingdom prepared for you from the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home. 36 I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.’

I know I have preached on this time and time again, but it is so important to our walk with Christ.  The “Church” should be outside the four walls of their building more than they are inside.   We have to stop relying on governmental agencies to take care of the people and start being the hands and feet of Jesus Christ in our communities.  It is not just about giving money, we need to give ourselves.

Christians like to complain about how easy the liberals are offended, but really are we that much better?  Take the RED STARBUCKS CUP debate/debacle.  Are we seriously offended that a non-Christian business chooses not to use a “Christmas” cup?  I think Starbucks has made their stance pretty clear a long time ago that they are about inclusiveness.  And, while, I don’t always agree on what this means, on this issue I do.

I was one of those who was offended when businesses went to using Happy Holidays instead of Merry Christmas.  I could get very heated in a debate on this topic, well that is until I went to work in a law firm for a Jewish family.  Before this, I had never given much thought to Hanukkah and did not really know what the holiday entailed.  Once, I was able to see that they too supported retailers during the same time as Christmas (and boy did the family I work for support retailers….and UPS) I could better see why the change was made.

While, Christians feel passionately about God, we must remember that there are others who don’t hold the same beliefs.  God gave us free will for a reason.  We will do nothing but alienate non-believers if we continue to be offended over every little slight.  Furthermore, are we making up things to feel slighted about?  After all, THE CUP IS RED and GREEN,which I believe are the traditional colors of Christmas.  So, if I choose to go to Starbucks, which is unlikely, I will look at my red  and green cup and think Christmas…which will make me think Jesus.  It is all in our state of mind.

Yes, I do understand that our religious liberties are being taken away.  As you read my blog, I think I have made it clear where I stand on that issue.  There are times to fight and times to take a stand.  I just don’t think the RED CUP is one of those times.  Sometimes I wonder if Liberals start this stuff just to make us look like angry troublemakers (not seriously….I would prefer that over the alternative….some are angry troublemakers).  Furthermore, I wonder if they plant people like Donald Trump and Sarah Palin just so Republicans look incompetent (no, I do seriously wonder about this one).

Non-believers are more likely to listen to what we have to say when the see us doing what we say.

Some one put something like this on Facebook the other day and while he did it to slam Christianity, there is some truth in there and imagine the possibilities if we took the initiative to take care of the orphaned children:

red cup

Once again, I know this is being used in a derogatory way towards Christians, but it sort of stings because there is some truth behind it.   And, yes, the people posting this are just as guilty of doing nothing for the orphans, but remember we are called to live differently than the world.  What would Jesus do?  Well, we were all once orphans too….

For the record, I have not adopted children and I am not a foster parent.  Honestly, I have never felt “called” to do so; however, I now realize we are all called to help the poor, widows, orphans, prisoners, and the sick.  Does that mean we are all called to adopt?  Honestly, I do not know, but I will be seeking the Lord on this issue.

But please, please, do not underestimate the importance of Matthew 25:31-36.

Some might be wondering what the ministries I mentioned above have to do with Matthew 25.  Well, I believe God gave me the ability and resources for the photography ministry to bless people.  There are many who could not afford a professional photographer, so they have no family photos.  In two weeks I will be doing Christmas Mini Sessions which will involve back to back photo sessions with all the proceeds going to a memorial fund for a good friend who recently passed in order to provide Christmas and Birthday gifts for her three children until their graduations and the other half to the Williamsport United Methodist Church so that we can continue on our many different missions.  This is my way of using my God-given talents to help others.  Also, I have taken the first steps to take some classes so that I may be ordained in order that I will be granted permission to go into local jails (there are some local jails who require someone who is ordained to lead and I don’t want to rely on someone else to have to go with me).  At this time, this is what I am able to do.  Will God open other doors?  I am counting on it.

On a side note, Republican friends, please, please do not make me have to vote for Donald Trump for president.  Please, out of love for Jesus and mankind, let us pick any other republican candidate to run for president.  Yes, my democratic friends, I would vote for Donald Trump for president over any of your candidates (shows you just how much I disagree with democrats), but I don’t want to have to ever say I voted for Donald Trump.

Be Blessed and Be a Blessing,

Missy

Leave a Reply

