Do You Fear the Lions’ Den?

Today (tonight) we finally get the most well-known story in Daniel.  Yes, yes, it is time for Daniel and the Lions’ Den.

At the end, I will also reveal a secret; better yet, a confession.  I will also give you a preview of probably the most controversial post I have ever written.  So don’t stop reading until the very end.

[While the majority of us are familiar with the story, I do ask you to take the time to read the Scriptures.  Unlike previous posts covering the Book of Daniel, we will be taking this story straight from the Bible (Yes, the adult version).]

After King Belshazzar was killed and overthrown, he was replaced by Darius the Mede.  He divide the Kingdom into 120 provinces, each with their own high officer.  Daniel became of 3 administrators who supervised those high officers (and to protect the King’s interest).  The other two administrators soon became jealous and began looking for ways to try to get rid of Daniel.  The problem was that Daniel was so very honorable, they could not fault him under the laws of the current government.

Daniel Chapter 6:4-26  (NLT):

He was faithful, always responsible, and completely trustworthy. So they concluded, “Our only chance of finding grounds for accusing Daniel will be in connection with the rules of his religion.”

So the administrators and high officers went to the king and said, “Long live King Darius! We are all in agreement—we administrators, officials, high officers, advisers, and governors—that the king should make a law that will be strictly enforced. Give orders that for the next thirty days any person who prays to anyone, divine or human—except to you, Your Majesty—will be thrown into the den of lions. And now, Your Majesty, issue and sign this law so it cannot be changed, an official law of the Medes and Persians that cannot be revoked.” So King Darius signed the law.

10 But when Daniel learned that the law had been signed, he went home and knelt down as usual in his upstairs room, with its windows open toward Jerusalem. He prayed three times a day, just as he had always done, giving thanks to his God. 11 Then the officials went together to Daniel’s house and found him praying and asking for God’s help. 12 So they went straight to the king and reminded him about his law. “Did you not sign a law that for the next thirty days any person who prays to anyone, divine or human—except to you, Your Majesty—will be thrown into the den of lions?”

“Yes,” the king replied, “that decision stands; it is an official law of the Medes and Persians that cannot be revoked.”

13 Then they told the king, “That man Daniel, one of the captives from Judah, is ignoring you and your law. He still prays to his God three times a day.”

14 Hearing this, the king was deeply troubled, and he tried to think of a way to save Daniel. He spent the rest of the day looking for a way to get Daniel out of this predicament.

15 In the evening the men went together to the king and said, “Your Majesty, you know that according to the law of the Medes and the Persians, no law that the king signs can be changed.”

16 So at last the king gave orders for Daniel to be arrested and thrown into the den of lions. The king said to him, “May your God, whom you serve so faithfully, rescue you.”

17 A stone was brought and placed over the mouth of the den. The king sealed the stone with his own royal seal and the seals of his nobles, so that no one could rescue Daniel. 18 Then the king returned to his palace and spent the night fasting. He refused his usual entertainment and couldn’t sleep at all that night.

19 Very early the next morning, the king got up and hurried out to the lions’ den. 20 When he got there, he called out in anguish, “Daniel, servant of the living God! Was your God, whom you serve so faithfully, able to rescue you from the lions?”

21 Daniel answered, “Long live the king! 22 My God sent his angel to shut the lions’ mouths so that they would not hurt me, for I have been found innocent in his sight. And I have not wronged you, Your Majesty.”

23 The king was overjoyed and ordered that Daniel be lifted from the den. Not a scratch was found on him, for he had trusted in his God.

24 Then the king gave orders to arrest the men who had maliciously accused Daniel. He had them thrown into the lions’ den, along with their wives and children. The lions leaped on them and tore them apart before they even hit the floor of the den.

25 Then King Darius sent this message to the people of every race and nation and language throughout the world:

“Peace and prosperity to you!

26 “I decree that everyone throughout my kingdom should tremble with fear before the God of Daniel.”

The question we must ask ourselves is, “what does God want us to learn here?”  Now, I don’t believe the answer will be the same for everybody or every time.  I think God continues to reveal new meanings to us each time we study this story.

I am not going to lie; I definitely see the connection of politicians trying to bring down a God-fearing man by using his own religion against him.  I don’t think it is a far reach from some of the situations many of us are finding ourselves in today.

I certainly believe this story is a reminder that we must stay true to the Laws of God before the laws of any man.  Now, I know we are supposed to obey those in authority over us.  I get that.  However, Daniel was too.

Jeremiah 29:7 (NLT): This is what the Lord of Heaven’s Armies, the God of Israel, says to all the captives he has exiled to Babylon from Jerusalem: “Build homes, and plan to stay. Plant gardens, and eat the food they produce. Marry and have children. Then find spouses for them so that you may have many grandchildren. Multiply! Do not dwindle away! And work for the peace and prosperity of the city where I sent you into exile. Pray to the Lord for it, for its welfare will determine your welfare.”

For a time, God specifically wanted the captives to live peacefully and under the authority of their oppressors .  However, as we can see here in Daniel, those orders had their limitations.  God never wants us to follow authority that goes against Him.

We all have our own battles.  We all will have to take a stand.  Now it may not be on the scale of Kim Davis, but we will have to take a stand.  Better yet, we will have to take our stand several times over several years.  It is an ongoing stand.

All Christians have or will have to choose to do what God has called them to do and face the Lions’ Den or give into their oppressors and face the wrath of God (not saying hell…just consequences).

Here’s my secret; Here’s my confession:

I have not been as brave as Daniel.  I have let fear of the Lions’ Den keep me from writing what I feel God has called me to write.

It is not coincidence that I have been struggling ever since I tucked my tail between my legs and ran….twice.

As some of you may recall in December I started a series called While We Were Sleeping.  It is a series that dealt with the Islamic religion, Israel, the happenings in the middle east, etc.  It was a great series.  But some of you may have noticed that it stopped abruptly.  There is no end of the series because I got scared and stopped writing it.

You see, not too many people know this, but I got contacted by several different Muslim men through my personal accounts.  As I was doing research on the topic of Islam, I went to a lot of pro-Islamic sites and such.  Well, it doesn’t take much to track users down, and contact was made.  I then began to fear for the safety of my family.

Instead of trusting God would save me and my family from the Lions, I bowed down to the enemy.

I stopped the series in February and by March I began the biggest spiritual battle of my life.

Then again this summer I felt called by God to write a series on how same-sex marriage affects us.  It was a series that was meant to be more about Christians (not as homophobic as it sounds), but I once again let fear stop the series short.

Once again, I feared the Lions’ Den and failed to trust in God.

This summer has been a long, hard, fought spiritual battle.  God and I have overcome some issues and we are still fighting others.  However, I now can finally see how I let fear give Satan a foothold.  Tonight, I am closing the door to Satan as I announce that I will update the Series While We Were Sleeping and it will begin to run again next week.  This issue is to important to just let go.

Furthermore, I ask that you check out my next post (either tomorrow or Monday) as I will share what God has laid on my heart regarding the False Prophet, Antichrist, and the End of Times.  It is sure to be a post that will cause some drama.

Be Blessed and Be a Blessing,

Missy

Leave a Reply

