Reblog Friday: The Power of No & 5 Trends Christians Must Stop Doing

Fellow Christians, let me first just say, if you are not one who usually takes the time to read by blog (and for those reading on Facebook and just scrolling through), please, please make the time today.  There is a lot here today and I think we all need to hear it…and guess what…..I am not the one saying or writing it.

This Reblog Friday is a little different.  I want to share a video from Joshua Feuerstein, but there seems no way to get a direct share except on Facebook, so I will share a link to his Facebook page and I want you to watch the video titled The Power of No.

For those of you following me on Facebook, I have already posted or will be posting the video just as soon as my blog is posted, so you may view it there.

I apologize for the inconvenience, but it seems You Tube only has videos bashing Joshua (for the most part).  Who is surprised by that?

I know there is a movement out there calling for all Christians to stop sharing Joshua videos.  I am not joining.  Yes, he and I have some theology differences, but I refuse to attack my brother in Christ because we disagree.  I have yet to find a public speaker, preacher, author, and so forth that I agree with 100%.  Yes, I am aware he may believe in the Pentecostal Theology of the Oneness of God, meaning he doesn’t believe in the Trinity.  But, guess what?  I do and what he says won’t change my beliefs (if that is indeed what he believes).  Besides, he has a lot of great things to say.  Things I have been saying for years but just not as well or powerful.

If you want to know why this resonates so much with me, take a look at a post I wrote last September, My Holy Spirit Experience.

Also, in this video he shares a link to John Wesley Reid‘s blog, which is where I came across his great blog post 5 Trends Christian Millennials Must Stop Doing.  (Please note that I know very little about John Wesley Reid or his theology, but I did very much like this post and several others.)

Below in an excerpt of this blog post.  To read the full posting, please click on the link above.

Recently a video went viral with a message about what Christians are not. Typical trendy rhetoric followed that while perhaps had good intentions in breaking down the barrier between the Church and the world, the message was very problematic: “I’m a Christian and I’m queer. I’m a Christian and I like Beyonce.” A very well written critique to the video can be found here. This piece is not a critique of the video but rather a holistic response to young Christian millennials who often sacrifice their Christian values for the sake of being relevant to the world. I will remind you, oh beloved children of God, that Jesus himself said that the world will hate you because of your love for Him. You can love the world like Jesus loves the world and still be hated. It’s not your fault, so don’t change your method. Your advocacy for Christ should never come at the expense of your relationship with Him. Here are 5 ways that many Christian millennials are hurting their delivery of the gospel to a world that desperately needs it.

1) Tolerance
Tolerance flies in the face of the gospel because it is apathetic both to brokenness and holiness, and when we don’t recognize our brokenness then we will never recognize our need for holiness…and thus Jesus becomes, at best, superfluous. Millennials have it in their minds that hating people’s sin means hating the individual. This message is due in part to the liberal media but many young Christian millennials sing the same tune. Instead of hating sin for the separation that it causes between us and God, they accept the sins of others in the name of “loving them for who they are.”

But the problem with that is when we accept people for who they want to be, we neglect the people that Jesus made them to be.

Jesus was the prime example of love, but never does He display an ounce of tolerance. (see: Jesus, The Epitome of Intolerance) Indeed the cross was proof of His intolerance. What type of tolerance prompts a king to step off his throne to die for his people? Tolerance was never part of the story! The gospel does not boast “come as you are, stay as you are” but rather “come as you are TO BE RESTORED!”

2) Neglecting Theology…….

3.) Separation from the World….

4.) Bashing the church…….

5.) Declining accountability…….

It really is great writing and I strongly encourage you to make the extra effort to click the link and read the full story.  Yes, I realize there is a lot of extra clicking today, but I believe it is worth the extra effort.

Times are changing folks.  We need to get ready.

As Always, Be Blessed and Be a Blessing,

Missy

One thought on “Reblog Friday: The Power of No & 5 Trends Christians Must Stop Doing

Leave a Reply

