Throwback Thursday: I Know My Sheep and My Sheep Know Me

I was just thinking this morning that it has been a year since I took a leap of faith and quit my job.  When I look back, I can’t believe I ever doubted God as this year has been such a blessing to me.  I was able to spend a lot of time with my girls who have since graduated, went on many college tours, and got my youngest daughter involved in competition gymnastics.  None of these things I would have been able to do while working.

Did I mention I love my new job as a substitute teacher?  I kept thinking today, I love this job; I am very blessed.

I am also finding great joy in new ministries.  Last week I announced a call out for my new women’s ministry and I recently started a photography ministry (which came straight from God).  Many great ministry opportunities are in the works and I can’t wait to see what God does this year.

Let me save you some time, stop doubting God.  If you hear His voice, simply follow.

God bless!

I Know My Sheep and My Sheep Know Me (Originally posted on September 16, 2015.)

Well it is official; I am currently a stay-at-home mom and wife. While it may not make sense to some around me, I know the time was right because God called me to it.

Actually I had felt and heard God tell me to quit my job long before I ever did it; I was just too confused to follow through.

If I heard God’s voice, why was I so hesitant to quit? After all, this is something I had been wanting to do for a long time. One word: doubt.

I started to doubt it was God’s voice I was hearing. Because leaving my job and spending time doing ministry was something I was longing to do, I was afraid my voice was getting in the way.

I looked all around me for confirmation. Yes, there was some confirmation; however, it was not the means I was expecting, which made me doubt a little more.

 

Then someone gave me a word….

“Sometimes, if we fail to act when we know God is calling us to do something, we can miss our blessing.”

Sounds pretty good doesn’t it? Then why did I still doubt?

 

You see, just as soon as God gives a little bit of confirmation, Satan wants to get in there and mess things up. We must be careful with our expectations and demands. God is not a little monkey who dances on command, He will not necessarily give you the confirmation in ways you’re expecting or wanting.

A few days after the “word” from the person at church, my spirit spoke to me and said, “Wasn’t it the same voice that has been guiding you all along that told you now was the time?”

Uh oh spaghettios!

Now I really have a problem. Have I been hearing God’s voice all along or have I just been hearing mine?

It only took me a minute or two to get a grip. I was confident that I had been following the voice of God since being filled with the Spirit one and a half years ago. And once I was able to stand firm on that, I got it.

John 10: 14 (NKJ)- I am the good shepherd; and I know My sheep, and am known by My own.

John 10:27 (NKJ)- My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me.

You see, I got so caught up trying to get outside confirmation that I missed the importance of hearing God’s message directly. I know the voice of God. I know when my Spirit is talking and when I am talking, deep down I know.

The lesson here for all of us is that we are the sheep. We know our Shepard’s voice. We don’t need our best friend to confirm what God has directly spoken. If everything was laid out in black and white, why would we need faith? Why would we need trust?

Now, don’t get me wrong confirmation is important, especially when you are not hearing God’s voice clearly. But we can drive ourselves crazy and miss our blessings if we rely more on outside confirmation than the voice of God.

Lord, train our ears to hear your voice clearly and teach us to act faithfully and promptly upon command. In Jesus’ almighty name I pray, AMEN!

Have a blessed day!
Missy

3 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: I Know My Sheep and My Sheep Know Me

Leave a Reply

