Throwback Thursday: Even Though I Walk Through the Valley

Even Though I Walk Through the Valley-originally posted on May 23, 2013

Psalms 23:1-4:  The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

I’ve never read a more insightful study of these verses than I found in Lysa TerKeurst’s book, Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl. I strongly believe God has given her some great insight into His word.

The story of David has become somewhat of a cliché, but God has made this really personal for me in the last few years. You see, I have often felt overlooked and under appreciated in my own life. I have battled insecurities in all my relationships and in my walk with the Lord. I have always desired to be more than I was and allowed Satan to have a field day. So, this one really hits home for me.

The Lord revealed to Samuel that the King who would replace Saul would come from the house of Jesse. Jesse had several sons who were strong, beautiful, and the epitome of greatness. But these sons were not chosen. These sons did not have a heart for God. The overlooked, under appreciated son, who every one had written off, was to be the next King. Why? Because his heart was pure; his heart was of God.

“Being overlooked and rejected by people does not equate to being overlooked and rejected by God.” (Becoming More..pg.77)

Wow, what a powerful statement. God looks to the heart of His people not outside appearances. I think there is a saying that goes something like “God doesn’t call the qualified, he qualifies the called.”

So, once David was picked as king, he went straight to the palace, right? Umm..no. He went back to the fields. I know, it sounds crazy. Here this boy was picked to be King and they sent him back to the fields? Doesn’t make much sense. It did to God. So, did David throw a fit? Get impatient and start doubting his calling? No, he stayed faithful to his God and went about his everyday activities.

Have you ever felt you have been called to do something, but nothing happens? I know this has happened to me. I expected action after I felt called and I got nothing. I lost faith and started to doubt if it was God I heard. David did not.

“The Lord is my shepard, I lack nothing. He makes me lie down in green pastures,he leads me beside quiet waters”.

David refused to give into discontentment and he chose to learn during his waiting period.

You ever felt those menial tasks you accomplish every day are a waste of your time? I know I have. However, God is using them to prepare you for the purpose of which you have been called. God used to David’s menial tasks to help him defeat his giant. David not only took care of the sheep, but he played music for King Saul, ran errands for his father, and delivered messages and brought food to his brothers on the battlefield. In fact, while delivering goods to his brother, he came upon his opportunity. The battle was at a standstill because no one was willing to take on Goliath the Giant. David stepped up to the plate.

He used the skills he learned as a Shepard fighting off bears and lions to defeat the giant.

Are you seeing it? I know I am.

God uses difficulties in are life to change us. God uses waiting periods to prepare us. God uses menial tasks to teach us.

David should have been scared. Here he was a mere boy taking on this huge giant that no one else dared to fight. I would have been scared. I doubt I would have had enough courage. What did David draw on…

“Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.”

Above I mentioned that I finally figured out why this topic has been on my heart. This weekend I am going to face a situation that Satan has used many times to fuel my insecurities. I know God is reminding me that I have nothing to fear because he is with me. I can face this situation with confidence knowing I am not alone.

The story of David was to remind me that I have been chosen by God, not overlooked, not underappreciated, but chosen. It does not matter what anyone else says or does, I have a Father who loves me and chooses me.

Thank you Lord, for never letting go, for always walking by my side. I may not be perfect, but you are. Your love for me is perfect and gives me the strength to face any situation with hope and confidence. I love you and I praise you! In Jesus’ name I pray, AMEN.

Please keep my in your prayers this weekend as I face my Goliath and until next time, stay safe and God bless,

Missy

 

Leave a Reply

