A Day Late and a Dollar Short

I know I am a day late and a dollar short here, but I can’t help but throw my 2 cents in the pot.

Christian opposition and discrimination is growing in America (duh).  Notice I refrained from the word persecution.  I did so because I don’t believe we have hit that mark…yet.  There are Christians all over the world loosing their lives, enduring horrendous torture, and such, in order to serve and worship Jesus Christ.  This can not even begin to compare to what we face in America.

But just because we are not there yet, does not mean we aren’t called to take a stand.

This is all I am going to say on the Kim Davis debacle (because I hate to see Christians divided)

  1.  I respect Ms. Davis’ willingness to stand for her beliefs.  It takes a lot of courage to do what she has done , and I admire her love and dedication to the Lord.  Her unwillingness to compromise on the Word of God is honorable.
  2. It is my personal opinion there was a better way to go about it.  I believe a public resignation IN THIS CASE would have been sufficient (#3 states why)
  3. Our religious freedoms should not and cannot trample on the protected rights and freedoms of others.  Whether we agree with the US Supreme Court’s decision or not, the law of the land now allows for homosexual marriage, which means it is a protected right.
  4. Under God’s law, Kim Davis did the right thing by not issuing the licenses, I support her decision.  I just don’t think she can take her stand and expect to keep her job  because her beliefs hinder the rights of others.  Sometimes following Jesus comes with a high price.  A loss of income is a high price.  Is it fair?  No.  But who said following Jesus was going to be fair and easy?
  5. There are cases that need to be taken to court to fight injustices.  I believe the photographers and bakers who are being charged fines for not participating in same-sex marriages have a case that can be won.  They should take a stand because their religious right not to participate in what they see as sin does not deny same-sex couples their right to marry as they can receive the same services elsewhere.

Don’t get me wrong, I am all for “render to Caesar  what is Caesar’s, but never render to Caesar what is Gods.”  I just don’t think it applies to the Kim  Davis Case.  I could be wrong.  Maybe it is my limited legal background (I have a degree in paralegal studies, interned in a courthouse, and worked as a paralegal for 7 years) clouding my views.  I don’t know.  But I do know God’s ways are not my ways, and I am looking forward to seeing what God does here.   I will definitely acknowledge that it was “all God” if Kim Davis comes out victorious because legally she does not stand a snowball’s chance.  Maybe, just maybe, that is what God wants…His glory to shine…and for all to know He is God.

Update: Since this posted this morning I have since been schooled by God.  This came across more harshly than I intended.  While I do have concerns about Christians usurping other rights, I failed to consider that if we take all Christians (Christ followers) out of public office, where does that leave and lead us?  I also failed to state that while I don’t necessarily think I would have chosen the same path as Kim Davis I do acknowledge that everyone must follow what God tells them to do.  Sometimes what God wants me to do is not the thing he wants you to do.  I have been in situations that seemed right to everyone else but left me with no peace because it was contrary to what God wanted for me.  Who am I to tell her what God is saying to her?  Kim Davis is my sister and I will pray for her and for religious freedom to be restored to this country.  God bless.

Anyway, I think most Christians can agree that the story of Daniel is becoming more and more prophetic.  Join me Monday (as Thursday is Throwback Thursday and Friday is Reblog Firday) as we will take a closer look at Daniel.  I promise you a fun and different approach.

Be Blessed and Be a Blessing,

Missy

One thought on “A Day Late and a Dollar Short

  1. First off, I think the process of searching for understanding you’re going through is admirable. It’s such an ordinary experience, to have to decide when a boss or a business asks you to something you object to, whether to submit or quit. But those are the only options consistent with basic ethical behavior, let alone religious adherence. Refusal to compromise, to cooperate, even to allow others to act, isn’t a sacrifice for faith. It’s just garden-variety stubbornness.

    Mrs. Davis took oaths, she made solemn promises UNDER GOD to comply with the duties of her elected office. This is a covenant with the public, a high responsibility for which a high salary is paid. Laws change all the time. Every government employee knows that. If a change in law comes into conflict with your beliefs to the degree you can’t see a way to follow them, you absolutely have the obligation to resign, as other clerks with the same objections did.

    I’ll give you a comparison from my own life. I work as a medical asst. and imaging tech. I’ve sometimes participated in procedures performed on gang members, to help save their lives. Now I KNOW they are, and continue to be involved with what can only be described as an evil lifestyle. Did I have the option to refuse to treat them, or disparage them in any way? No. i took oaths to grant every patient the same service without exception, in order to get my licenses. If I can’t keep my promises, I must quit and find some other area to work in.

Leave a Reply

