Pure Hearts

There have been times in my life when I hear God with absolute clarity.  Then there are times when I struggle to hear God at all.  I used to chuck this up to “seasons” of life.  However, the more I study God’s Word, the more I realize that while we go through “seasons”, God’s intention is for us to have Him and hear Him all the time.

The times we struggle to hear God or feel Holy Spirit should be indicators that something is wrong.  It is like the engine lights on our cars…. warning, warning,….things are about to go seriously wrong if not addressed.

Matthew 5:8 (NKJ)-Blessed are the pure in heart, For they shall see God.

I strongly believe that those who are pure in heart see God with an absolute clarity and are confident in His will.  If we are not in that place, then maybe, just maybe, we are not as pure as we thought we were.

Pride cometh before the fall, right?  Sometimes we go along thinking we are okay in our Christian walk.  Yes, maybe we are not reading our Bibles or studying as much as we used to, but we are still doing good because we got our radios tuned to KLOVE and we are going to church.  Maybe, we talked badly to and about our husbands, but, hey, they deserved it.  It is not gossip if you are just sharing your concerns about others, right?

Sin can sneak up on us.  It can also be a flat-out choice.  Whatever the cause, whatever the reason, sin, unconfessed and unrepented, can cloud our purity and affect our ability to hear God clearly.

This brings me to the whole “refiner’s fire” analogy.

Zechariah 13:9: And I will put this third into the fire, and refine them as one refines silver, and test them as gold is tested. They will call upon my name, and I will answer them. I will say, ‘They are my people’; and they will say, ‘The Lord is my God.’”

Yes, we have all heard this before, but hear me out.  The refiner’s fire is a cleansing process.  In order to make silver pure it has to go in the fire.  It must be cleansed of all the yuk, melted down, and then molded to fit.  The fire represents the trials of this life.  Trials allow God to remove the impurities from our lives.  That is nothing new to most of us.  However, what God has shown to me over the last few weeks is that sometimes the only way we can see our true hearts, the cracks and the weak spots, is by the fire.

I thought I was doing good.  I thought I was ready for the next step in my ministry.  Then a problem in my marriage came up.  A big problem.  One that had been brewing for a very long time.  It became a do or die situation.  It had to be fixed or it would have taken us down.  At first, it looked like it was going to take us down.  Even after all the teaching I have done on divorce and biblical marriage, for a moment, I was ready to walk away.  There was a crack, a weak spot, in my heart.

God knew that in order for me to go forward in my ministry, my marriage needed fixed.

It would seem that repairing the crack would have ended my problems, but actually the fixing part revealed a lot of other cracks in heart.  The fire reveled hidden impurities in my heart.

For several months (March 2015) I have been having trouble hearing God as clearly as I once could.  It has been very frustrating for me.  These struggles of late have been frustrating.  However, I now see that without these trials, without these little hiccups, I would not of seen all the impurities in my heart that were getting in the way of me and God.

And while I am still working on a few of those issues, I am glad to report that I am hearing God clearly again.  Maybe even clearer than I ever have before.

Be Blessed and Be a Blessing,

Missy

 

 

Leave a Reply

