What Is Your Superpower?

I very much dislike yard work.  It is not mowing the grass I mind so much, but it is those darn weeds.  I hate pulling weeds.  No matter how much weed killer I use, or how much of the root I get, there always seems to be another weed just waiting to sprout.  So much wasted time pulling weeds.

So what happens if we just stop?  What if we take a week off from pulling weeds?

I did this last week and guess what?  Now I have twice as much work to do.  They certainly didn’t pull themselves and now my back yard flower bed seems to be out of control.  I look around and I am so overwhelmed by the amount of weeds to pull that I don’t even know where to start.  So I don’t.  I keep putting it off.  And the weeds just keep multiplying and the flower beds get worse.

Sounds kind of like life, right?

The longer we let sin grow in our hearts, the worse it gets or the larger it gets.  Pretty soon the work it takes to fix it seems beyond us and we don’t even want to start.  Yes, this is why it is important to spend time God daily.  This is why it is important to be in church.  When we get away from these things it is easy to let in a little sin here and a little sin there.

Be diligent and seek the Lord everyday.

Scripture tells us all we have to do is seek and the Lord will be there.

Jeremiah 29:13 (NLT): 13 If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.

Sounds like another Christian cliché doesn’t it?  I know, I used to think that as well.  But the more I do it, the more I see just how much it really works.  But you honestly have to seek him.  The scripture says “wholeheartedly,” meaning you have to seek God with all of your heart.  You have to read His word.  You have to start living His word.  If you want His promises, you have to follow His ways.  You don’t have to be perfect, you just have to be willing.  And you have to pray.

Prayer.  This one is a hard one for me.  This is one God is currently working on in me.  I am not the best pray-er.  If someone ask me to pray for them, I offer up my little prayer, but then I seek someone else who I know is a great prayer warrior to pray for the person.  I don’t want to short change anyone, I want to make sure they are covered.  However, I knew this year would be the year God got me on my prayer life. Don’t get me wrong,  I talk to God every day, all day long, but my actual prayer time is very limited.  I tend to think God knows everything and has it all under control, I don’t need to do anything.  But here is what I am beginning to understand:

Our strength and power come from the Lord through prayer. Prayer is the means to our spiritual power.  When we don’t pray, when we don’t call on the name of Jesus, we are no where close to effective here on earth or in the spiritual realm.  Prayer is an essential part of our Christian walk.  It is not just a Christmas list, it is our super power.  

prayersp

So, pray for God to show you the weeds in your life, then pray for the strength, knowledge, and wisdom to pull the weeds once and for all.  If they do happen to grow back,  keep on praying for the strength to fight off any and all temptations.

We are children of God.  We have the power.  We just have to call on the name of Jesus to activate our power.  Yep, Jesus is the number one superhero of all time and we get to be his sidekicks.  How cool is that?

Oh, I am so excited about all the things God is showing me regarding prayer and I can’t wait to share it all with you.

Be blessed and be a blessing,

Missy

One thought on “What Is Your Superpower?

Leave a Reply

