Though None Go With Me, Still I Will Follow

Though None Go With Me, Still I Will Follow

I have decided to follow Jesus,

I have decided to follow Jesus.

I have decided to follow Jesus;

no turning back, no turning back.

Though none go with me, still I will follow,

though none go with me, still I will follow.

Though none go with me, still I will follow;

no turning back, no turning back.

The world behind me, the cross before me,

the world behind me, the cross before me.

The world behind me, the cross before me;

no turning back, no turning back.

I was reminded of these simple lyrics yesterday and I just can’t shake them.  It is like God is whispering in my ear, gently reminded me to remain faithful despite the circumstances that surround me.  Oh, what great comfort these words bring.

It is easy to believe that the “world” tries to come against us and holds us back from truly following Jesus.  But the truth is Satan will use anything and anyone possible.

Jesus said in  Matthew 10:35, “For I have come to turn “‘a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law..”

Jesus isn’t out to destroy families, but He is making it clear that He is to come first.  He is to come before your wife.  Christ is to come before your husband.  God is to come before your children.  God is first, everything else falls in place accordingly (God, wife/husband, children, etc.).

We are not to lay Christ down for anything or anyone.  We are not to lay Christ down in order to  chase a husband or wife.  We are not to lay Christ down if He (or our relationship with Him) is making our children uncomfortable.

What do I mean by “lay Christ down”?  Well, it means that we down play our relationship with Christ.  We stop making Christ a priority in our lives.  We stop following the Word of God in order to appease relationships.

Sounds silly, but I have seen it happen and very few ever make their way back.

And while this may not be a personal issue for me or you, we must not get cocky, because while you may not lay Christ down for anyone, you may very well lay Him down for “things.”

I know I have.

I have laid Christ down when I wanted to do something I shouldn’t.

“I can watch this movie…I can read this book…I know I shouldn’t, but…well, grace, right?”

“I know I shouldn’t do this, but Jesus forgives.”

“God doesn’t really expect me to be perfect.”

“Just one more time, I promise.  Tomorrow, I’ll get back on track.”

My point here is to be careful about letting people and things get in the way of you and Christ.  We are follow Jesus at all costs, including relationships and wants and desires of the flesh.  It is not easy, but nobody ever said it would be.

Until next time, just follow Jesus!

Missy

 

 

Leave a Reply

