Questions We Must Ask Ourselves Regarding Homosexuality

Just because God wants us to do something doesn’t mean we are going to like it.

This has been my life for the last three or four years.  It seems that when I decided to commit my life to Christ, I mean fully commit, he decided to test my faith, and I have been moving mountains ever since.

As some of you know, I feel God calling me to start a new series on sexual immorality in America.  Yes, homosexuality will be a big part of the discussion.  And while I feel God calling me to do it, I am not liking it very much at all.  In all actuality, I’m starting to dread it.  You see, I have a love/ hate relationship with controversial issues.  On one hand I love a great debate.  On the other hand, I hate it when I can’t get people to see things the way I see them.  Also, this issue is so complex, we could easily find ourselves in perpetual rabbit holes.

Anyway, while doing some research on this topic, I came across and interesting article that included many questions to ask ourselves about homosexuality.  So I thought I would use a few of them to get us thinking about the issue before the start of the new series on Monday.  Consider it like priming the pump. [ Or, maybe, like climbing onto the ledge…depending how this whole series goes.  Jesus, you got this, right?]  Please note that I took the idea behind the questions from the article, these are not necessarily the same questions verbatim.  If you want to read the article in full or view the question verbatim, please click here.

But before I go there, let me just add that I am a big fan of Holy Spirit.  He is without a doubt a necessary key to living out the Christian walk.  However, it can be difficult for me at times to determine Holy Spirit from my own thoughts.  So let me remind us that Holy Spirit will never go against the Word of God.  If “Holy Spirit” is telling you to do something or believe something that cannot be backed by scripture or is against scripture then IT IS NOT HOLY SPIRIT!!!!!

Alright, here are what I think are the most important questions to ask ourselves when it comes to homosexuality:

1.  Do you believe homosexuality is a sin?

2.  What are your scriptural references?

You’d be surprised at how many people believe something without even knowing why they believe it.

3.  Have you always believed this?  If no, what changed your mind?

4.  Does Jesus say anything about the definition of marriage or homosexuality?

5. In Matthew 23, why was Jesus so angry at the religious leaders?

6. Is it sin to accept, condone, or support homosexuality?

7. Do you believe that passages like 1 Corinthians 6:9 and Revelation 21:8 teach that sexual immorality can keep you out of heaven?

8. How would you define marriage?

9. Should marriage be limited to only two people? Why or why not?

10. Does equality entail that anyone wanting to be married should be able to have any meaningful relationship defined as marriage?  Why not?

11. Should anyone who disagrees with homosexual practice be allowed to exercise their beliefs without fear of punishment, retribution, or coercion?

12. Would you speak out against shaming and bullying of all kinds, whether against gays and lesbians or against Evangelicals and Catholics?

13. For those of you who support homosexuality, do you think it is a sin for LGBT persons to engage in sexual activity outside of marriage?  Why or why not?

Probably the most important questions of all…….

14. How do you define love?

15. What verses would you use to establish that definition?

16. Do you believe it is possible to love someone and disagree with important decisions they make?

These questions give us a lot to think about.  I also hope to answer/discuss a lot of these questions in the upcoming series.  I pray that you will join me.  Please note that as this is a very controversial topic, there are sure to be heated feelings.  Please post any and all comments in a respectful manner no matter which side of the line you stand.  Once again, let me just say that I don’t necessarily have the standard Christian response to the issue at hand and I will probably offend and anger almost everyone at some point in the series.   But just because we do no agree, does not mean we can’t still love.

Have a Great Holiday Weekend,

Missy

 

 

One thought on “Questions We Must Ask Ourselves Regarding Homosexuality

  1. Will be interested to hear what you have to add to the conversation. I particularly am intrigued by question #10. Similarly, I remember a group in our church going to a “school” to get their BAs, Masters, and Ph.Ds in various things religious and psychological, and how I was frustrated that this “school” was in no way accredited. I helped put my husband through 6 years of graduate school, and believe me, he earned it. Marriage is something earned, and it needs to be backed by the proper authority, otherwise, call it what you will, but…..

Leave a Reply

