The Big Fat Elephant in the Room

Hmmm…I’m feeling like it is time for a new mini-series.  The topic on my heart is even more controversial than the last one (on marriage).  Everyone and anyone who is helping me with my blog or my writing is screaming, “No, No, No, please don’t,” but I don’t think I can help myself.  I have to do what I feel God is calling me to do, no matter if that kills my popularity.

no

Yes, I know most believe that blogs are supposed to be short, fun, and uplifting.  But if you have been reading my blog, you know that, that is not my  style.  This blog is more like a teaching/study blog, where we take the word of God and apply it to our lives.

Anyway, pray for me as we may very well venture into some unknown and unpopular territory this week.

Okay, with the Supreme Court’s decision on Friday (and, yes, unlike some writers/bloggers I am not going to ignore the big, fat, elephant in the room) my heart and thoughts have been on America.  This decision was not earth-shattering and should have surprised no one.  However, once again the issue of homosexuality has been thrust into the spotlight and we are left with two choices: 1.) Ignore it 2.) Beat the issue to death.

Hmmm.  Not liking the choices?  Me neither.  But because I am not one to ever back down from a fight or good debate, I choose #2.

Yes, I hear the groans.  But stay with me as I have good news.  This will be my new mini-series topic!!!  Yep, and the 20 people reading this, just hit the escape button.  Too bad because this new mini-series is sure to offend everyone.  Yep somewhere along the line, no matter which side of the line you stand, there is going to be something we disagree on.  But, hey, that is okay, that is what makes this fun.

Over the weekend I felt torn.  Normally I tend to focus on discipleship.  Most of my teachings are geared for those who consider themselves Christians.  I spent many years in church not growing because there was a lack of discipleship in the churches I attended.  Therefore, I very much have a heart for discipleship.  But what about the lost?   Well, for me, my desire to help the lost isn’t as strong as my desires to help other Christians grow.  I do pray for a bigger heart for the lost, but I would be lying if I didn’t admit that most times I feel okay where I am.  I  mean, we all aren’t called to the same mission field, right? Maybe you reach the lost, and I disciple.  You leg; me arm.  Works, right?

Maybe and maybe not.  God has been showing me scripture after scripture about reaching the lost and I believe that maybe, just maybe my focus has been too narrow.  Maybe God is calling me out of my comfort zone.

1 Timothy 2:1-8: I urge you, first of all, to pray for all people. Ask God to help them; intercede on their behalf, and give thanks for them. Pray this way for kings and all who are in authority so that we can live peaceful and quiet lives marked by godliness and dignity. This is good and pleases God our Savior,who wants everyone to be saved and to understand the truth. For,

There is one God and one Mediator who can reconcile God and humanity—the man Christ Jesus. He gave his life to purchase freedom for everyone.

This is the message God gave to the world at just the right time. And I have been chosen as a preacher and apostle to teach the Gentiles this message about faith and truth. I’m not exaggerating—just telling the truth.

In every place of worship, I want men to pray with holy hands lifted up to God, free from anger and controversy.

For me, this verse was a reminder that I am to pray for everyone.  There may not be a lot I can do in these difficult times, especially for those whose hearts are hardened to God, but I can pray.  Pray sometimes seems like a last resort or something you do on the sidelines, but in actuality it should be the first thing we do and is likely the best thing we can do.

This verse also helped remind me that Jesus died for us all.  He wants everyone to come to Christ.  Even those who have mocked, ridiculed, and even persecuted.  Look at the apostle Paul.  Before he came to know Christ he was one of biggest adversaries of the Gospel.  But God changed him and he became a new man and one of the biggest advocates of the Gospel.  God still changes hearts today.  Let us not forget that no one is a lost cause.

I pray you join me for my next mini-series.  It will sure be a time for great debate, but also a time for growth and the opportunity to come together in love.

Blessings,

Missy

 

 

Leave a Reply

