News Year’s Resolution Check Up

This week, I have been getting my new writing room set up.  This is something I have wanted/been planning to do for a long time.  I even made it one of my goals for 2015.  Now, that this one goal is almost here, I decided to take a look at how I am doing on the rest of my goals.

I am sad to say that if I was getting a grade for 2015, it would definitely be an F.

{To check out my full 2015 plan click here.}

I really wanted to take a step in my speaking ministry as well as be an active participant in my Compel group.  I have done neither.  In fact, it seems that these interests were actually but on the back burner.  Along with a whole lot of other things.

Hmmmm….this plan still looks promising.   I want to do these things.  I just have to find a way to put things in action.

My first step is to ask myself, “What is keeping me from carrying out my goals?’

Well, I guess there is a motivational issue.  I am in kind of in a slump.  I am still studying and writing, but I kind of have lost my passion.  I think this was caused by frustration.  My blog numbers haven’t been great.  Sometimes it feels as if I am just wasting my time.  Church excitement and serving is at an all time low.  We don’t seem to be doing much of anything and we can’t seem to get people excited about serving the Lord.

I also faced some major disappointments this year.  God didn’t exactly work the way I wanted Him to when it came to my kids’ college plans, so I am having some trust issues.  I sometimes wonder if it is even God I’m hearing.  Yes, sometimes I like to have pity-parties.

Lastly, it just doesn’t feel like God is opening any doors at the moment.  I have been trying (not really hard) for the last few months to get by daughter hooked up with a mission team with no success.  She really wants to go overseas, but I want to make sure she goes with a reputable organization.  So far, God has not provided us with a connection.

FRUSTRATED!!!!

But while I am frustrated, I am also being very cautious because I don’t want to be like Abraham and Sarah and take matters into my own hands and by trying to make things happen in my way and my time.  I am grateful for the reminder that that didn’t work out so well for them and it won’t for me either.  Yes, God’s will will be done, but I don’t want to take the long road to get there.

This year I claimed that I would be FREE.  2015 would be the year that I broke all stronghold.  2015 has been anything but.  My strongholds have actually gotten stronger.  Yes, this makes me angry, but I can also see Satan at work here.

My verse of the year still motivates me and I am more determined than ever to live out my goals for 2015.  After all, 2015 is not over yet.

Isaiah 61: 1-3 (NKJ): “The Spirit of the Lord God is upon Me,
Because the Lord has anointed Me
To preach good tidings to the poor;
He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted,
To proclaim liberty to the captives,
And the opening of the prison to those who arebound;
To proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord,
And the day of vengeance of our God;
To comfort all who mourn,
To console those who mourn in Zion,
To give them beauty for ashes,
The oil of joy for mourning,
The garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness;
That they may be called trees of righteousness,
The planting of the Lord, that He may be glorified.”

How are you doing on your New Year’s resolutions or goals?  It is not to late for you either.

Be Blessed and Be a Blessing,

Missy

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

