Countering Culture by Helping the Poor, Widows, and Orphans?

Matthew 25: 31-36 (NKJ):  “When the Son of Man comes in His glory, and all the holy[c] angels with Him, then He will sit on the throne of His glory. 32 All the nations will be gathered before Him, and He will separate them one from another, as a shepherd divides his sheep from the goats. 33 And He will set the sheep on His right hand, but the goats on the left. 34 Then the King will say to those on His right hand, ‘Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: 35 for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; 36 I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’

I know I have shared this before, but it is a verse/topic I can’t get out of my head.  God is calling me to action; he is calling us all to action.

counter

I am currently reading the book Counter Culture by David Platt.  I honestly got the book because I am doing a study on the ministry of Jesus Christ and His disciples in order to understand how to effectively reach people with the gospel of Christ in a society that wants little or nothing to do with following the word of God.  I literally want to know what Jesus would do today; there go the book on counter-culture.  Anyway, I did not expect to be convicted regarding the poor, widows, and orphans.

What does caring for the poor, widows, orphans and such have to do with countering culture and reaching people for Jesus Christ?  EVERYTHING!!!

Now, I am going to do something that is very hard for me: keep this short.  I know I loose people because my blogs are too long, I’m working on it, so here goes:

1 John 3:7 (NKJ): But whoever has this world’s goods, and sees his brother in need, and shuts up his heart from him, how does the love of God abide in him?

There is no doubt that most of us, living in America, have the “goods” to be helping fellow brothers and sisters and our neighbors as well (as indicated we should in Luke 10).  We may not be rich by Hollywood standards, but compared to other nations, we are very rich as we have clean water, food, shelter, and much excess.  It is very clear in 1 John that if we fail to help others in need we are not Christians after all.  I know this seems like a harsh statement, but go back and read the verse again, and you can be certain of it.  Also, go to your Bibles and read Matthew 25:31-46.  I am certain you will then see the great importance of helping our communities.

For today  I want to leave you with some other verses.  After all, it is not my job to convict, but God’s.  Please take the time to read them and meditate upon them.

Proverbs 21:13 (NKJ):Whoever shuts his ears to the cry of the poor will also cry himself and not be heard.

Proverbs 28:27 (NKJ):He who gives to the poor will not lack, but he who hides his eyes will have many curses.

James 2:14-17 (NKJ):What does it profit, my brethren, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can faith save him? 15 If a brother or sister is naked and destitute of daily food, 16 and one of you says to them, “Depart in peace, be warmed and filled,” but you do not give them the things which are needed for the body, what does it profit? 17 Thus also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead.

Now, I know some of you are thinking that we won’t be denied Heaven because of something we failed to do (help our brothers and sisters) as salvation is based on grace and not works.  We will take on that mind field tomorrow.

Be Blessed and Be a Blessing,

Missy

 

 

3 thoughts on “Countering Culture by Helping the Poor, Widows, and Orphans?

  1. Excellent. Real Christianity is found in the service to others, not just attending a weekly worship service.

  2. Another great post, Missy.

    I just have to tell you that this time last year, when I had the opportunity either to bless or discard one of the more difficult people in my life, it was only the teachings of Jesus that motivated me to go ahead and do what I knew to be the right thing. Many, many times I wanted to say (but never did, thank the Lord), “Ah, my friend, if only you knew how hard this was for me! Jesus is my only reason to go ahead and help you.” Although at the time it often felt like more of a burden than a blessing, in the end I was blessed.

    Conversely, whenever the kids and I witness someone definitely not treating others well, it is a good time to show the kids what happens in a life that is not heavily influenced by the teachings of Jesus. When anyone is not thinking regularly of giving an account of his behavior to the One Who made him, he often feels no strong compulsion to treat others with dignity, especially those who irritate or inconvenience him.

    This is not to say that Christians always treat others better than non-Christians. Anyone who has ever set food inside a church building knows that is just not true. Instead, we should be looking at trends and tendencies for Christians to treat others better than those who don’t love Jesus. Of course, even (and especially) Christians need grace. And if any of us could follow God perfectly right now, he would not need a Savior.

Leave a Reply

