Happiness is Not A Destination

I woke up today to sunshine and warmer temperatures.  It is going to be a good day.  It is going to be God’s day!

Did I mention I woke up to these two this morning:

puppies

 

Yes, we have two new additions to the family: Ruthie & Boaz.  Not so sure we are ready for this new adventure, but it sure makes my husband and girls really happy.

Happiness, man some days this seems to be an elusive dream.  Well, that is until God reminds me to take my eyes off myself and put them on Him.  Seriously, if we know this to be truth, and I do, why do we waste so much time allowing life to rob us?

While working on graduation stuff, I came across this quote and it really stuck with me.

So, I’ve been thinking about this whole “being happy” thing, and I feel like people get lost when they think of happiness as a destination.  We’re always thinking that someday we’ll be happy.You know, we’ll get that car or that job or that person in our lives that’ll fix everything.But happiness is a mood,and it’s a condition,not a destination.It’s like being tired or hungry.It’s not permanent.It comes and goes,and that’s okay.And I feel like if people thought of it that way,they’d find happiness a lot more often.”

Furthermore, sometimes happiness is just a choice.  We have to choose to be happy.  We have to purposely choose to focus on the blessings in our life and hold on to God’s promises even when troubles, sadness, and frustrations abound.  We then must have to recognize that we are going to go through trials; we are going to go through spiritual famine; and God will use all those things for our good.

Ecclesiastes 7:14 (NLT): Enjoy prosperity while you can, but when hard times strike, realize that both come from God.  Remember that nothing is certain in this life.

The key to retaining our happiness can be found in the following verse:

Romans 8:28 (NKJ):  And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.

Other bloggers at this point would potentially get caught up in defining happiness and pointing out that we were not created to be happy but joyful.  This is whole-heartedly true, but , honestly, I don’t see much difference between the term happy and joyful.  To me this is all semantics so I will not spend much time there.  The whole purpose by this statement is to point out that we can remain joyful or happy in trials and such because we are confident in our Lord and Savior and we know He will work all our troubles for His good.

Furthermore, we often get in trouble with loosing our joy/happiness when we start chasing happiness in the world.  Contrary to what some believe, there is biblical reference to happiness.  It is interesting to note that most of them (in some degree) reference obedience:

(Ps 128:1-2) says we will be happy if we fear the Lord and walk in His ways.

(Prov 3:13,18) says we will be happy if we find wisdom. (Fearing the Lord is the beginning of wisdom (Prov 9:10)(Ps 111:10).)

(Prov 14:21) says we will be happy if we have mercy on the poor.

(Prov 16:20) says we will be happy if we trust in the Lord.

(Prov 28:14) says we will be happy if we fear the Lord always.

(Prov 29:18) says we will be happy if we keep God’s law.

(Jn 13:17) says we will be happy if we follow Jesus’ example.

(Rom 14:22) says we will be happy if we do not condemn ourselves by what we approve of.

(James 5:11) says we will be happy if we endure.

(1 Pet 3:14) says we will be happy if we suffer for righteousness.

(1 Pet 4:14) says we will be happy if we are reproached (reviled) for the name of Christ.

(Biblical verses from:Jesus Alive)

So considering these verses, I would say God does want us to be happy….happy in Him.

In addition, the Bible says if we obey God’s commandments (Jn 15:11), pray in Jesus’ name (Jn 16:24), and are in fellowship with the Father and Jesus Christ (1 Jn 1:4), our joy will be full.

Hmmm.. nothing I have said today if life-shattering or life-changing; however, sometimes life and circumstances by-pass our defenses and all we need is a little reminder.  So take this for what is and choose to be happy and full of joy today.

Be blessed and be a blessing,

Missy

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Happiness is Not A Destination

  1. I like it! I find it hard most of the time for myself to be happy. Why? I don’t know fir sure but somehow I feel guilty with so many hurting people and doing without. I am afraid of I am happy then I might stop having a burden for the less fortunate. I know, pretty pathetic.
    BUT…I LOVE the names of your puppies!

    1. Thank you. Yes, I do see where you are coming for regarding the less fortunate. Sometimes I feel guilty being happy when there are so many hurting people. I guess that is my thorn so to speak so that I remember my focus should not be on my happiness personally but rather the happiness that can be found in work of the Lord. God bless!

Leave a Reply

