God is a God of Restoration

Can’t believe it has been a week since I last posted.  Last week just got away from me with all the substituting (test time), working at the gym, Emily’s softball schedule, and not to mention getting ready for prom and graduation.

Nevertheless, I always feel regretful when I neglect my blog as it is my outlet.  It allows me the time to step away and withdraw from the world and focus solely on God.

It is not hard to tell I’ve been struggling a bit.  I have let disappoint dictate my feelings and therefore dictate my relationship with God.  My daughters are about to graduate for high school and God is just not working the way I expected him to work.  This is definitely a trial of faith and some days I have failed.

Good news, I have a God who forgives and restores.

The days where I have lacked faith can lead me to feel guilty.  But what I must be careful of is to not allow that guilt to push me further away from God.  God has convicted me in regards to my lack of faith and my sulking, but the devil is trying to condemn me.  Instead of focusing on my failure/the times I have lacked faith and whined and cried, I need to focus on God’s restoration and get back up and be stronger than ever in and for my faith.

All we have to do is look at Peter to know that God restores.  Peter denied Christ three times and abandoned him in His greatest hour of need, yet God restored him and used him to build His church.  Hallelujah!  Praise you Jesus!

Psalm 5:10-13 (NIV): Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. 11 Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me.  12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.  13 Then I will teach transgressors your ways, so that sinners will turn back to you.

This song is my song this week, may it be as uplifting to you as it is to me.

Blessings,

Missy

 

 

One thought on “God is a God of Restoration

  1. Missy, you are in my prayers and in my thankful prayers.

    I, too, and struggling with God’s ways not being my own. As I write, I hear the echo of Mr. Beaver saying “He’s NOT a TAME lion” (about Aslan, the Christ-figure in C.S. Lewis’s “Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe”). Coupled with that is something I heard Dr. James Dobson saying years ago (quoting someone else, I think): “No matter where you are, that’s where you are!” That quote makes me laugh Then relax a bit. Life gets busy, and we get exhausted and discouraged. But sometimes, although God does warn us against selfishly presuming upon His grace, there are times when He simply calls us to rest in His grace.

    May you rest in God’s grace, Missy!

    God bless you!

    Hugs,

    Gwennon

Leave a Reply

