Just Give Me Jesus

In continuing on with our theme for Holy Week, the question for today is:

Has the “Church” rejected Jesus?

Better yet……

Has the “Church” turned its back on Jesus?

This is not an easy answer.  In all honesty, I would like to believe that the answer, as a whole, is “no.”  As I said yesterday, I think there is a pull from outside sources.  I think in order to appease people and get more church attendees, were are compromising the Word of God.  Now, that being said another motive to do so is out of love.  I have a hard time faulting someone for wanting to minister to a group of people who have been “cast out” of society long enough.  So, some degree I can understand the “Church’s” dilemma.

Once again, the real problem is balancing loving others and standing up for truth.  This is probably the hardest obstacle, I, as a Christian, face.

Can we accept Jesus without accepting His word? All of His word?

The answer to this, of course, is “no!”

People would like to believe that you can have Jesus but live your life any way you please.  After all, isn’t this what grace is for?  This is simply not true.  Yes, I know salvation is not based on works, but if you truly have accepted Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior, you will at least try to make Him Lord of your life.  I honestly believe that.

Will an alter call at the end of church sermon get you into heaven?  Not if you didn’t honestly accept Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior.  Saying the words is not enough if you have no intention on changing your life.  Well, that’s a message for another day….

After seeing all this crap on Facebook, I can now understand and appreciate this scripture all the more:

Revelation 3:15-16 (NIV):  I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! 16 So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth.

As much as I don’t like when non-believers misuse and abuse scripture, it “burns my buttons” when someone claiming to be a Christian does so.  This last week I have been having trouble sleeping because I am so disappointed in my fellow Christians, who just stand by, say nothing while our Jesus is being attacked and our religious liberties are in jeopardy.  Yes, I know the scripture about not laying your pearls before swine, but come on, where is your gumption, where is your passion?  Sometimes silence really is acquiescence.  Furthermore, it gets me very disturbed when I see “Christians” going with the ways of the world.  Yes, I know it is easier.  Yes, I know it is hard to get made fun of and called names.  However, there are people across the world dying for the right to believe in Jesus Christ.  There are people in other countries who are watching their children be tortured and beheaded because they won’t renounce their Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  (Where is the outcry for them by the way.  Those who claim to “love” everyone….where is your love for those Christians being tortured by ISIS?  Does this situation look familiar to anyone?) And I see people renounce Jesus Christ on a daily basis on Facebook.  It grieves my heart.  It really does. I am weeping now just writing this.

Jesus was about love.  His love included correction and discipline.  Much like the love of an earthly parent.

Revelation 3: 19-22 (NIV): Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline. So be earnest and repent.20 Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.

21 To the one who is victorious, I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I was victorious and sat down with my Father on his throne.22 Whoever has ears, let them hear what the Spirit says to the churches.”

Wake up Church!  Wake up fellow believers!  It is not enough to simply believe in Jesus.  Heck, even the devil believes in Jesus.  No, we must take him at His Word and follow His Word.  Once again, anything less leads us to:

“Crucify him.  Crucify him.  Give us Barabbas.”

I don’t know about you, but I know what I will be shouting “GIVE ME JESUS!!!”

Have a blessed day,

Missy

 

 

Leave a Reply

