Dare to be Different

Okay, I’m just going to say it (write it).  We all know it; it is no secret.  Proverbs 31 Ministries is never going to call.   It is not because of my lack of writing skills (which would be a major obstacle to overcome), my blog is just not happy go-lucky.   I’m not happy, go-lucky.

I am a serious kind of person.  My blog tends to represent me.  If you want a two-minute read that lifts your spirit, this blog is not for you.

Not that there is anything wrong with inspirational blogssuch as Proverbs 31 Ministries.  That company has ministered to me greatly and on numerous, numerous occasions.  In fact one of their founders and President is one of my favorite authors, and Lysa TerKeurst has undoubtedly and unknowingly discipled me.  There is an obvious need for them.  But there is a need for blogs like mine as well, which are better geared for a study than a quick pick-me-up.

I am just stating the obvious here.

Why?

Not really sure.  This was definitely not the plan for today.  I guess someone reading this needs to hear it (read it).

I belong to a writers’ group that gives us tips on writing, publishing, and blogs do’s and don’ts.  I break a lot of those blog don’ts.  No, I break most of those “don’ts.” I tried to do it their way, but I couldn’t.  It just wasn’t me.  Their way I am sure would make my blog more successful and at a faster rate.  However, it is not what God has called me to do nor how God has called me to do it.

I would not have been able to do this two years ago.  I would not have been able to go against the grain.

What changed?

I was filled with Holy Spirit.  Wow, I didn’t see this going there.  But here we are.  Before I was filled with the Spirit I was led by people.  Why?  I didn’t trust myself.  I didn’t trust myself to know what was me, God, or the world, so I let others tell me.  Now, I don’t need to do that because I trust what the Spirit is telling me.  I hear God speaking to me through His Spirit.  Sounds crazy to some who think very little of Holy Spirit, but it is truth.  [If you are one who thinks of Holy Spirit as merely your conscience, I encourage you today to look more into him.  Yes, “him”.  Holy Spirit is a person.  The third person of the trinity, in fact.  ]

In our culture today we often think that if we are different from there is something wrong with us.  But the Bible is full of stories of those who chose to listen to God and be different…..Moses couldn’t go along with the ways of his adopted family, he was called for something different; Abraham and Sarah had to let go of all they knew to be humanly possible and trust in God’s supernatural ability to make things happen; Mary took a leap of faith by shaking off all her haters and trusting God’s voice; and on and on it goes.

God has a purpose for you.  A purpose uniquely designed for you and you alone.  He has given you talents, gifts, traits, and such to help you accomplish your purpose.  Don’t miss it or take the long road because your too concerned by what others think and what others do.  People like to think the need to be “popular” ends with high school, but it doesn’t.  We can still struggle with this issue if we allow ourselves to get stuck in the rut of pleasing people instead of God.

I'd rather

I never thought I would quote Kurt Cobain.  Especially considering he ruined by 80’s hairband era with his grunge music.  I have never quite forgiven him for that…lol.  But there is a lot of truth in that simple statement.

Today, let us all dare to be different.  Let us be guided by God and God alone.

Blessings,

Missy

 

Leave a Reply

