THINK Before We Speak

Well, it is good to be back.  I took an extra long spring break from the blogging world, not that I went anywhere, I just needed a break.

My crazy work schedule didn’t help either.  My friends think it is very amusing, especially the ones that work, that I went from quitting my job to two jobs in a matter of weeks.

Me, not so much.

One of Satan’s greatest tools is distracted and I have been more than distracted these last few weeks, I have been off my game completely.  I don’t like myself very much for it either.  I am far from proud.  But past experience has shown me that beating myself up over it would be a further waste of time, so I’m going to focus on being the person I am called to be.

“Satan has no power over us except what we allow. Moment by moment, decision by decision, step by step – will we operate in God’s all powerful Truth or allow Satan to entangle us in his lies?”

                                                                             –Lysa TerKeurst

It is my mouth that gets me in trouble…almost every time.  I have done some serious thinking on this issue.  Why?  Why do I have so much trouble controlling my tongue?  Some would like me to believe that this is just my personality.  I am just the kind of girl who likes to be “real” and all those who don’t speak their minds are just fakes.  Well, this is a flat-out lie.  It is not my personality.  And some things are better left unsaid.  One of the best gifts I ever received was a stern lecture from a friend (didn’t much like her at the time).  It went something like this:

Speaking your mind is not some great personality trait, it is a sign of immaturity.  We all have similar thoughts, just some of us are mature enough to know that we should not voice them.  Just because you think it, does not mean you have to say it.  All you have to do is look to God’s word to know that is true.  I am not fake, I am a grown-up.

Ouch!  This did hurt, but man, oh man, did it help me get my mind-set straight,

What does God’s word say about the tongue?  Oh, the list goes on and on, but here are a few of my favorites:

Proverbs 21:23 ESV: Whoever keeps his mouth and his tongue keeps himself out of trouble.

Ephesians 4:29 ESV : Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.

Proverbs 15:1 ESV: A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.

James 1:26 ESV: If anyone thinks he is religious and does not bridle his tongue but deceives his heart, this person’s religion is worthless.

Proverbs 17:28 ESV: Even a fool who keeps silent is considered wise; when he closes his lips, he is deemed intelligent.

Proverbs 18:21 ESV :Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits.

Proverbs 15:4 ESV :A gentle tongue is a tree of life, but perverseness in it breaks the spirit.

Matthew 15:11 ESV: It is not what goes into the mouth that defiles a person, but what comes out of the mouth; this defiles a person.”

Titus 3:2 ESV: To speak evil of no one, to avoid quarreling, to be gentle, and to show perfect courtesy toward all people.

James 1:19-20 ESV: Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger; for the anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God.

Proverbs 31:26 ESV: She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.

Once again, OUCH!!!

I know it has now become a cliché, but I think it is helpful to THINK before we speak.

THINK1

Oversimplified?  Maybe.  But maybe, just maybe, it will give you a long enough pause to let Holy Spirit guide your words.

Be blessed and be a blessing,

Missy

Leave a Reply

