Feeling Separated or Distant from God?

While sin is not a fun topic for a Monday morning, I couldn’t think of a better way to start my week.

You see, I have been struggling for the last few weeks or so.  I have been struggling to make good choices, godly choices.  I have let my mouth speak unkind words; I have had a very negative and pessimistic attitude; I have spent less time in God’s Word; I have let distractions keep me from doing God’s work.

I have not been the person I was made and called to be.

Why?

Because of choice.  Because of sin.

All of those things I mentioned above happened because I made poor choices.  I made choices that did not line up with scripture.   I knew better, but I did not choose better.

I am determined to have a different week.  Now, I could let my failures (and sin) continue to keep me from God and doing what I am called to do, or this week I can simply make better choices.

sin 2

Yesterday during worship we sang Mighty to Save.  Yes, and old one, but still a very good one.  Our God is mighty to save; yet, we still have to be willing to call out to Him for help.  We must go to him to confess our sins so that he can forgive our sins.  Sin separates us from God, which only leads to trouble.  I have been struggling these last few weeks because my choices (sin) were causing separation between me and God.  Now that I have gone to Him, repented, and sought forgiveness, there is nothing standing between us.  I am sure expecting a different kind of week.

1 John 1:9 (NIV): If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

Are you feeling separated from God?  If so, I suggest you hit your knees and call out to Christ.  Our God is mighty and willing to save us; all we have to do is call on His name.

Have a blessed week,

Missy

 

 

Leave a Reply

