Give In or Dig In and Trust God

Revelation 2:15-16 (NLT): I know all the things you do, that you are neither hot nor cold. I wish that you were one or the other! 16 But since you are like lukewarm water, neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth!

I get it God; lukewarm Christianity is blah!  

Monday, I wrote on Surviving the Famine, surviving the times in our lives when discouragement, frustration, and disappoint threaten to overtake us.  During this time, we have a choice to either give in or dig in.  I am choosing to dig in.  I am digging in to God’s word.  I am vowing to trust God and not my feelings.

Easier said than done, right?

Well, anyway, I am reading a new book.  Actually, it is not new, just new to me…and not even new seeing as I have had it for like a year.  I have picked this book up a time or two, but at the time the topic didn’t strike my fancy.  Isn’t it just like God to have me pick this book up again at exactly the time I needed it?

I am reading I Dare You by Joyce Meyer.

Joyce Meyer explains that a life without purpose is a life not worth living. We all need a reason to get up everyday. We all need to reach for something beyond ourselves. Over the centuries, millions of people have asked, “What am I here for? What is my purpose?” We are born; we live; and we die. We cannot do anything about being born or dying, but we can do a lot about how we live. (Publisher Description)

The very first dare: Stop Asking Why!

 

Well, at least she started off with something easy.  No, in all seriousness, Joyce encourages us with the following:

Don’t ask: Why did God let this happen?

Ask: What can I learn from this to make me a better person?

Don’t ask: Why is there so much hurt in the world?

Ask: How can God use me to help the hurting?

We have to spend more time doing what the word of God says to do than contemplating why God does what he does or wants what he wants from us.  In other words:

We waste our lives and time asking “Why”.  

Romans 11:33 (NLT): Oh, how great are God’s riches and wisdom and knowledge! How impossible it is for us to understand his decisions and his ways!

It is impossible for us to understand why God does what He does.  Period.  So stop trying to figure Him out.  Why we are here, let me just point out that we should also stop trying to tell God what to do or trying to manipulate Him.

Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV): For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Oh, my favorite verse!  God has a plan.  God knows best.  This is such a comforting promise knowing that God’s intentions and plans are far better than I could ever device.

Proverbs 19:21 (NIV): Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.

We can make as many plans as we want, but once again we are just wasting our time because in the end, God’s plans will be the only plans left standing.

Think about this for a moment.  If all the plans we ever made came to fruition, where would we be? I don’t know about you, but I would be miserable.  Why?  Because often times the things I want are the very things that are not good for me.  God, in His mercy and wisdom, does not give us everything we want or desire, even if it is a godly request.

Sometimes are frustrations, disappointments, and discouragements stem from us trying to make the plans instead of us following God’s plans.

You see, it is easy for me to become frustrated, disappointed, and discouraged when God doesn’t work they way I think he should work; when God doesn’t do what I want Him to do.

 crucified 2

We will never be fully satisfied or find that “elusive” peace until we learn to accept God’s will and plans with joy and stop throwing hissy-fits whenever God’s will is contrary to our will.

In order to fully trust God, we must be willing to accept unanswered questions.

Why? (bahaha)

Genesis 1:1 (NIV): In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.

God is the maker of the universe.  God was not created, he created.  God just IS!!!  Who are we to question the Creator?

Joyce Meyer’s Motto:

“Ask God for anything you want, but be content with what He gives you.  Trust His choice is always the best.”

Joyce and I dare you today to stop asking the question “Why,” and start living your life joyfully and with passion and purpose.  Don’t have passion?  Don’t have a purpose?  Stay tuned…..

Blessings,

Missy

 

2 thoughts on “Give In or Dig In and Trust God

Leave a Reply

