The Answer to Reaching Others for Christ

One thing I have been really struggling with over the last few years is how exactly to minister to the lost.  I have done my research.  I have look at how Jesus and His disciples did it together.  I have looked at how the disciples did it without Jesus.  I still hadn’t come up with a solid, clear-cut answer.

I know the world wants me to believe it all about the love.  And it is.  However, their version of love is very different from that of Jesus.  Oh, so often, so very often, we are told “those without sin are to throw the first stone.”  Somehow the whole part of Jesus saying, “Go and sin no more,” is forgotten.

There is a balance that must be made; we all know this.  But finding that balance can be extremely hard (at least in my case).  Last week I hinted that I had two encounters that had given me great insight.  One was Rich Mullins, which I discussed on Friday a little bit and will be doing again this week, and the other was my husband.

I am ashamed to admit it, but I don’t turn to my husband for spiritual advice as often or as much as I should.  It is something I am working on, yet I still fall so very short.  Anyway, lately, he has been blowing my mind with his great spiritual insights, and I don’t even think he is aware of it.

With one verse on his Facebook page last week he cleared up a two-year battle in my mind and heart.

1 Corinthians 9:19-23 (NKJ):

19 For though I am free from all men, I have made myself a servant to all, that I might win the more; 20 and to the Jews I became as a Jew, that I might win Jews; to those who are under the law, as under the law,[c] that I might win those who are under the law; 21 to those who are without law, as without law (not being without law toward God,[d] but under law toward Christ[e]), that I might win those who are without law; 22 to the weak I became as[f]weak, that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all men, that I might by all means save some. 23 Now this I do for the gospel’s sake, that I may be partaker of it with you.

I used to say “we have to know our audience.”  I had no idea that statement was based in scripture.  Like so many things of the Bible, there is no clear-cut way to reach the lost.  What works for one doesn’t always work for another.  God doesn’t work in us all the same, so we are not going to reach people for Christ with a standard, one size fits all approach.  No, we have to be willing to adjust to our audience, to the circumstances, and to each person.

As you are all aware, I am very big on obedience.  However, I wouldn’t direct my obedience talk to someone who has yet to know Christ or is a babe in Christ.  Why?  Because they aren’t ready yet.  Yes, I always speak truth.  If directly asked, I will talk about the hard stuff.  But as a general rule, I don’t lead off it with.  Obedience is a hard pill to swallow for a seasoned Christian, how can I expect a newborn to swallow it?  No, WE HAVE TO KNOW OUR AUDIENCE.

You don’t know how relieved I was to find this scripture.  Let me just say, it was life-confirming.

When I was looking up images to add to this post, I came across the one below and I just can’t help myself; I have to share it.

wives

Be blessed a be a blessing today,

Missy

 

Leave a Reply

