Growth Opportunities

1 Corinthians 8:2 (NKJ): And if anyone thinks that he knows anything, he knows nothing yet as he ought to know.

God never ceases to amaze me.  Just when I think I have something figured out, he opens my eyes to more.  It is like the small gift, wrapped in many, many, layers, and just when you think you have finally gotten to the gift, there is another layer to unwrap.

learning

As Christians, we must be careful to guard our hearts and watch out for false teachings, but sometimes we can miss out to some of God’s truths because we aren’t willing to 1.) acknowledge that there is anything anyone can teach us (we already know everything there is to know; 2.) accept differences of opinions.

If we think we already know everything, how will we learn anything new?  If we are so arrogant to think that we can’t be taught by everyday people then we will never be taught.  God has learning and growth opportunities for us each and every day, but often we miss them due to our own arrogance.

never learned

Unfortunately, I have a reputation of someone who always has to be right and/or someone with control issues.  I am going to say upfront, THIS IS NOT A GOOD THING.  It is something I am working on.  While some may say it is just my personality; it is just who I am; I know different.  These ungodly characteristics come from choices I make, choices I can change.  Anyway, I have a tendency to discount anyone who disagrees with me or get angry at those who can’t (or won’t) see it my way despite all my logical proof.  But as Dudley points out above, where is the growth in that?  Sometimes growth happens by being challenged.  Sometimes growth happens when you open yourself up to others opinions, because you might just find they are right.

I experienced a few of these growth opportunities this week and I can’t wait to share them with you.  Check back soon as I would to share how my husband really does more than I give him credit for and how a movie softened my heart.

Be blesses and be a blessing,

Missy

One thought on “Growth Opportunities

Leave a Reply

