In the Hands of God

Well, I can honestly say that I am happy to be writing to you all today.   There was a time this past weekend where I didn’t think I would  get the opportunity to write or speak another word.  But God is faithful, God answers prayers, and that is the only reason I am still here today.

You see this past weekend I had to take my daughter on an overnight scholarship competition in Northern Indiana.  First off, who plans these things?  Who thinks it is a good idea to hold such an important competition in Northern Indiana in February?  Not me that is for sure.

Anyway, on our way home Saturday morning we hit bad weather.  There was fierce wind blowing new and old snow all over the roads, creating the worst white out conditions I have ever seen, let alone drive in.  I’m not the best driver as it is, which only made matters worse.  By the time I realized just how bad it was, I could not turn around.  We were out in the middle of nowhere.  There came a time when I just had to stop.  I could not see a yellow line; I could not see a white line.  I had no idea if I was at the side of the road, middle of the road, or anywhere in between.  I braced myself for a rear-end collision. To top it off, my windshield wipers froze up and then all my window, even know the defrost was on full blast.

white out

(This is very much like what I saw when looking out my front windshield)

This was without a doubt, the scariest moment of my life.    More than anything I worried about the safety of my daughter.  I began to worry that I just might get her killed.  I didn’t know what to do next.  I had my daughter call my husband, whom I desperately wished was the one in this situation because he would know just what to do and he certainly would not be panicking.  Needless to say, there was nothing he could do for us 2.5 hours away.

I then told Emily to get my phone and post on Facebook that we were in need of prayers.  I knew the only way we were going to make it off this road (did I mention it was in the MIDDLE OF NOWHERE) was by the intervention of God.  I then bowed my head.

I’m not exaggerating (I promise you I’m not), within seconds of that post and my prayers, the cloud of snow lifted and I could see the road. 

We were on a bridge and there were a whole line of cars behind us.  My windshield cleared too and I was able to get out and clean off my windshield wiper blades.  It dawned on me then just how bad this situation could have been if a car would have struck us while on this bridge.  I was overwhelmed with relief and I was overwhelmed by the fact that my daughter and I had just been touched by the hand of God.

prayer

I would love to say it was an easy drive from there, but it was awful.  I prayed the whole way.  My Facebook friends prayed the whole way.

God not only saved us that one time, but he kept his hand on us the rest of the way.

Yes, I can honestly say that on February 14, 2015, my daughter and I were in the hands of God.

You see, an hour after this, we came upon a 6 car pile up on a major highway.  I braced myself and told my daughter to brace herself because I couldn’t stop (I don’t know anyone who can get an Elantra to stop in bad weather), but God guided my car off the road and we navigated around the cars and just kept on going.  (I didn’t stop because the last thing you need in white out conditions is another vehicle stopped.)  Shortly after, we came upon another pile up and the same sort of thing happened.  God navigated our car to safety.

collision

(This is not a picture of any of the wrecks we saw, but it is eerily similar)

There is no doubt in my mind that God saved us.  There is no doubt that calling for prayers from my friends was the right thing to do.

Once again, God is reminding us of the power of prayer.

I still struggle in this avenue.  I don’t know why.  I guess I feel talking with God throughout my day is enough.  But it isn’t.  God wants to hear our prayers.  And sometimes, just sometimes,

“W have not because we ask not.”

Go to God with your prayers today.  Do not be afraid to approach the Throne of God.  Do not assume God already knows.  Go with thankfulness and humility and then expect God to work on your behalf.  He did it for me, he will do it for you too!

Feeling abundantly blessed,

Missy

One thought on “In the Hands of God

Leave a Reply

