Co-Founder of Newsboys Now an Atheist?

For most of you in the blogging world, the news that former Newsboy and co-founder of the original Newboys is now an atheist is old news.  But for me, and I am sure my friends and fellow church mates, this comes as a surprise.

o-GEORGE-PERDIKIS-facebook

 

George Perdikis?  Who is he?

Let me just be honest, I did not follow the Newsboys in the mid-eighties/nineties, so I really don’t know much about George Perdikis.  But I am always sadden when someone who knows the Lord just walks away.  As you recall, Monday, I posted Back to the Vomit, which dealt with the issue at hand.

(click below to read full article)

I Co-Founded One of the Most Popular Christian Rock Bands Ever… and I’m Now An Atheist. 

Not only did George announce to the world that he renounced Christianity in 2007, but he felt it necessary to take a jab at his former bandmates and the Christian industry as a whole.

“The Christian music scene is populated by many people who act as though they have a direct hotline to a God who supplies them with the answers to the Universe. There seems to be more ego and narcissism amongst Christian musicians than their secular counterparts.

Recently, the Newsboys were featured in the movie God’s Not Dead. The movie demonstrated the pervasive attitude of Christians. They demonized everyone while giving a pass to their own particular brand of Christianity, making themselves look like fluffy white angels with perfect, synchronized lives.

The truth is — from someone who knows what went on then and what goes on now — the Newsboys aren’t as holy as they profess. Instead of wearing a mask of “righteousness,” they should acknowledge that they are struggling as much as everyone else.

Now that’s a movie I’d like to see.”

It sounds to me as though Mr. Perdikis is maybe a little jealous and resentful that the Newsboys went on to do much greater things without him.  After all, I didn’t even know his name.  It is not like it was Peter Furler (another, more famous, former member), that, to me, would be more shocking.

Yes, I am in a Christian band.  While we don’t even come close to have the success of the Newsboys, I too have seen the negative side of the Christian music scene on a local scale.  Even at the local level, there are aspects that are not pretty.  I’ll admit it is not as “Christian” as people make it appear.  I have seen jealousy, egos the size of Texas, unchristian like language, smoking, drinking, etc.  Being in Christian music doesn’t make you perfect.  Do those in Christian music  try to appear perfect?  Maybe some do, but not all.  I have attended Winter Jam and other Christian concerts, and I must say that all those I have come in contact with, including the Newsboys, came across very humble and approachable.  I have seen artists stay for hours and hours after the show to make sure they visit with each and every one of their fans.  You don’t see this much in other genres.

But, instead of being angry at Mr. Perdikis,  let us all pray for this lost sheep who has lost his way.  And all those who may follow in his footsteps.

FYI: I’m currently working on the next post in the While We Were Sleeping series.  It should be up later today or tomorrow.

Blessings,

Missy

 

 

Leave a Reply

