My 2015

As some of you may have noticed, I took a few weeks off.  This may have been the longest break I have had from blogging, but it felt good to just disconnect and have much-needed downtime with my family.  Yes, I realize I was in the middle of a series, but I promise you, I will get back to it tomorrow as I feel it is a very important series.

Anyway, it is now a new year and I’m excited to start fresh.  Yes, I have even set some goals (no groans please).  I know most believe new year resolutions are a waste of time, but I prefer to look at resolutions as refocus tools.  I spent time with God on personal, family, and blogging issues in order to get a better sense of where to focus my attention.

My 2015 word of the year….drum roll please…..FREE!!!

I spent much of 2014 doing an in-depth study of Beth Moore’s Breaking Free and I’m ready to put my knowledge into action.  2015 is the year I break free from stronghold that hold me back, break free from other people’s opinions of me, and finally ending self negative talk that prevents me from living out God’s call on my life.

My 2015 Personal Verse of the Year:

Isaiah 61: 1-3 (NKJ): “The Spirit of the Lord God is upon Me,
Because the Lord has anointed Me
To preach good tidings to the poor;
He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted,
To proclaim liberty to the captives,
And the opening of the prison to those who are bound;
To proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord,
And the day of vengeance of our God;
To comfort all who mourn,
To console those who mourn in Zion,
To give them beauty for ashes,
The oil of joy for mourning,
The garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness;
That they may be called trees of righteousness,
The planting of the Lord, that He may be glorified.”

A little presumptuous?  Maybe to some.  But I know that I am a child of God, and as a child of God, I am anointed; I am called to take His message to the people.

Matthew 28: 18-20 (NKJ):

18 And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. 19 Go therefore[a] and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen.[b]

“Teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you,” really sticks out to me.  I am not just called to preach the love of Jesus Christ (which of course is par for the course), but I am also called to speak of obedience and the importance of following the word of God.

My 2015 Family Verse of the Year:

family verse My family is facing a lot of changes in 2015.  I have two daughters who will be off to college.  There are a lot of great opportunities ahead, but there is a lot of room for fear, doubt, and worry.  I want to remind myself and all of my family that all our concerns can be taken to God with faith and confidence.

My 2015 Blogging Goals:

2015 will be the year I whole-heartedly attempt to communicate with other bloggers and try to join  an on-line community.  This is totally outside my comfort zone and will take a massive amount of time.  I will start by commenting on at least 3 other blogs every week day. Prayers are appreciated.

I will also attempt to blog something, whether it be a picture, a quote, or a full-out blog post, every week day.

Every Friday will be dedicated to reblogging my favorite blog post of the week.

I will try harder to keep up with my quotes of the day, my reading lists, and favorite quotes.

I will do one book study a month (either a Proverbs 31 study or one of my current or past reads) as well as do a short “book review” of sorts for every book I read this year.

I will dedicate every Monday (morning and afternoon)and Saturday morning to my writing.  In other words, I will write ahead!

In short, I will have two jobs with blogging as my full-time job and substitute teaching as my part-time job.  Not sure how this will work, but I guess 2015 will be the year I perfect my time management skills.

My 2015 Writing / Speaking Goals:

I will be an active member of Compel in 2015.  I will participate in group discussions and do at least one activity a week.

I will finally get my office space cleared out, painted, decorated, and be working in by spring of 2015.

I will work on my book idea one weekend a month.

I hope to book at least 2 speaking engagements (other than my local church) in 2015.

I will also complete my business cards and brochures (which will include a photograph by May 2015).

My 2015 Personal Goals:

I will read the Bible every morning.

I will read two Christian books a month and complete a personal study.

I will work on evangelizing and speaking about God to others.  My first step is to read up on the subject and find my style.  I know from past experiences what doesn’t work for me (or others), so I just gotta find my own way of doing things.

I will upgrade my prayer life.  I vow to pray on my knees every day while continuing to talk with God throughout my day.  I will pray for my husband and children specifically each day.

I will continue to work on being a Proverbs 31 wife and mother.

Now maybe this blog post was a little boring for you as it did not apply to your life.  However, ask yourself, “What are my goals for 2015?”  Then ask God what His goals are for you in 2015.

I would love to hear what God has for all of us in 2015, so don’t be shy to drop a few lines and let us know your goals or resolutions for this great, new year…2015.

Blessings,

Missy

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “My 2015

  1. Missy-i stumbled on your
    Blog and i just wanted to say im
    Praying for you! It is awesome to start the year refreshed and focused!!! I look forward to seeing you succeed!!!!

    1. Thanks for stopping by and I sure do appreciate your prayers. I checked out your blog as well. You have a very unique blog and I had enjoyed looking at all your different features. Blessings to you in 2015.

Leave a Reply

