A Network-Challenged Blogger’s Plea for Help

I joined Compel, a division of Proverbs 31 Ministries (for writer’s/bloggers), a few months ago and I have yet to participate in one group chat or discussion.

I have been writing this blog for over a year and a half now, but I have made very few connections.

Why?

I’m network-challenged.  I am computer shy I guess you can say.  I know it is not typical, but I can connect a lot more easily with people in person than on-line.  I’m not sure why that is.

Am I alone?  Does anyone else have or had this problem?

Everything you read about “blogging” will tell you it is vital to make connections with other bloggers.  I realize this, I’m just not very good at it.  It takes all the energy and time I have to keep up with my writings.  Yes, I take time everyday to read blogs that show up in my reader or ones that I have grown to like over the years, but I rarely comment.

Why?

Everything I write sounds stupid or superficial.  I don’t want others to think I’m just trying to get them to my blog.  I want genuine relationships, not business connections.  Or at times I feel intimidated.  The really good bloggers don’t need my lame opinions.  They have hundreds/thousands of followers already.  Why would they want more?

In writing these excuses or thoughts sound lame, real  LAME!  But I’m not sure how to fix it.

So, I thought I’d go to the source.

What are some networking/relationship building tips you can give me.  Remember, I’m network-challenged, so give me some baby steps first.  What I am really looking to do is connect to other like minded bloggers who can support one another in the “blogasphere” but in our walks with the Lord as well.

( I really hope I’m not the only one who struggles in this department.)

Blessings,

Missy

12 thoughts on “A Network-Challenged Blogger’s Plea for Help

  1. Baby steps indeed, read and comment on 3 blogs this week. (My blog homework assigned by my beautiful, bright IT coach, my god daughter). There are lots of reasons not to, you’ve listed a few good ones, but do it anyways. I’ve had some lovely exchanges.

    1. Goals are always good. I do work best this way. I accept your challenge and I will comment on three additional blogs this week (replying to my own doesn’t count). Thank you and God bless!

    1. Compel is a writer’s group/workhop at http://compeltraining.com/ (there is a link on the right side of my blog.) It offers a variety of tips, videos, chat rooms, projects, etc. The cost is $20-$25 a month, but well worth it. It would even be more worth it if I actually participated in the chat sessions and such. I highly recommend it for any Christian writer/blogger.

  2. The Internet can feel like being in the campus Library on a Friday night! Am I all ALONE in here??? Keep writing and posting. Trust that we will find you.
    See, you and I connected today 😉

    1. Thank you. Your comparison definitely hit the nail on the head. Sometimes I feel like I’m the only one who is not “getting it” or is overwhelmed by the do’s and don’t do’s.

  3. I know exactly how you feel! Every piece of advice on blogging says to “comment, comment, comment,” and I struggle with feeling like I have to comment even when I don’t have anything worthwhile to say. I want to be meaningful, and not just say something for the sake of seeing myself type or checking off a to-do list to make myself successful in blog-land.
    That being said, have you prayed about it yet? The power of prayer can open doors – even little ones in the “blogosphere” world.

    1. Thank you. It is good to know I’m not alone in this. I have been praying about this and will have to continue to do so. Right now I do feel God calling me to reach out more to others, I just have to find a way that is more me. I do truly appreciate you taking the time to add your thoughts and your honesty. God bless!

  4. Dear Missy,

    i really do identify with your problem. Relating to people online is so different than a face-to-face meeting.

    What is the purpose of your blogging? (I need to evaluate my own motivations here. Sigh.) Maybe God has you online for the purpose of developing your talent and keeping you on a writing schedule while at the same time keeping you hidden from the world while He molds your character. I know that I myself have a number of flaws that I would probably do well to keep correcting rather than have exposed publicly before I my character is fully developed. When I am crying into my blueberries about my own lack of followers or blog appreciation, I sometimes try to remind myself of that. But it can be very discouraging at times.

    I find your writings to be very good and you speak to a lot of problems and/or character development that I need to address in my own life. in the last year, however, my life has gotten busy and challenging in ways that I never imagined, the consequence being that I have a lot less time and motivation to spend on blogging and developing blog relationships.

    Yet, even though I am not always reading your writings, I am always thankful for you whenever I see your name come up in my inbox. You are one of the kind, caring blog “friends” I have that I have put into my thankful prayers.

    I pray that God will encourage you in your writings. You have a lot of good things to say, Missy.

    Another thing to consider is that many parts of a woman’s life, especially when her children are young, are seasonal. Just a week ago, I permanently closed the season on a hobby of mine that at one time had given me great joy, but now was just a mess in my closet, reminding me that I have only a limited amount of time.

    Also, what does your husband say about your blogging? Is he supportive? Or does he feel you need to spend more time with the family? If he is fully behind your blogging, then you can look over the horizon to a bright future of brilliant success.

    As I said just now, you are often in my thankful prayers whenever I am online. I pray that God will powerfully encourage you and give you contentment right where you are.

    Sending you hugs and thankful prayers,

    Gwennon

    1. Thank you for your advice. I really do need to stay true to the purpose of my blog and remember just because it is a good idea and works for others does not mean it is right for me. I know God had me working solely on my writing for the first year, but now I feel like He is leading me to seek out others and build relationships. While my husband is very supportive, even allowed me to quit my full-time job, time is still an issue. Thanks again for the encouraging words and reminding me of what is important. God bless!

      1. Time! It can evaporate so easily online.
        I make a hit list of 3 things I intend to do and then I set the kitchen timer. 45 minutes at a time then a break, then right back at it. Wash-Rinse-Repeat until my To Do list is checked off. I just started using Evernote and I love it for the √ feature. Keep at it friend.
        Cheers

Leave a Reply

