Silence is Golden

Well, I enjoyed the 31 day challenge, but it is good to be back to normal business.  I am still struggling to find a good system that works since I left my job as a paralegal and become a stay at home mom who subs from time to time.  It is crazy, but I definitely have less time to write now.  It is so easy to get distracted at home.  I have also been very bad at keeping up with communictions and visiting other blogs.  Please forgive me as I keeping working on a solution.

Anyway, I am currently doing my own study in Joshua and God really just showed me something big (well, at least it is big in my life), and I thought I would share it with you all.

In chapter 6, verses 2-5, of Joshua, God is letting Joshua know exactly how the Israelites are going to take down Jericho:

And the Lord said to Joshua: “See! I have given Jericho into your hand, its king, and the mighty men of valor. You shall march around the city, all youmen of war; you shall go all around the city once. This you shall do six days. And seven priests shall bear seven trumpets of rams’ horns before the ark. But the seventh day you shall march around the city seven times, and the priests shall blow the trumpets. It shall come to pass, when they make a long blast with the ram’s horn, andwhen you hear the sound of the trumpet, that all the people shall shout with a great shout; then the wall of the city will fall down flat. And the people shall go up every man straight before him.”

Later in verse 10, you will see that Joshua added something of his own:

10 Now Joshua had commanded the people, saying, “You shall not shout or make any noise with your voice, nor shall a word proceed out of your mouth, until the day I say to you, ‘Shout!’ Then you shall shout.”

Now, while Joshua may have added this to make the “shout” more sensational, I think there is a deeper meaning.

We must remember that Israel is just coming off their 40 year punishment  as a result of whining, complaining, unbelief, and vocal doubts.  I don’t think Joshua wanted a repeat.  He learned from history, so must we.  When facing great hardships or challenges, we must not speak words of unbelief, wine, or complain.  Words do have power, thus the directive to be SILENT!

If we prohibit ourselves from speaking words of complaint, doubt, unbelief, and fear, we are more likely to focus more on God and what He can do instead of what we cannot do.

And, yes, if you are wondering, the Israelites followed Joshua’s instructions and were silent.  I know, I was astonished too.  I think this may mark the first time the Israelites did anything without complaining.

Blessings,

Missy

 

 

2 thoughts on “Silence is Golden

Leave a Reply

