31 Days of Worship and The Word: Day 21: More of YOU!

The Worship Song of the Day: More of You by Colton Dixon.

More of Jesus and less of me is definitely what I need right now.  When I quit my job last month, I thought I would have more time with God.  The truth is that I seem to have less time.   CRAZY.

Being at home I find myself distracted by all the things that need doing…dishes, laundry, this project, that project.  You know how it goes.  The never-ending list of TO DOs.

I feel God asking, “Where do I fit in to this new schedule?”

I need more of God and less of me, less of a To Do List, less of life.  I know some say that is not practical, but I think it is more than practical, it is a necessity.

When we are trying to fit God into our schedules then our priorities are messed up.  

I am not just talking about the pyramid with God at the top.  No, as I said before God is to be the middle of our carousel.  So, if we are struggling to make time for God, then he is evidently not the center of our world.

I made my castle tall
I built up every wall
This is my kingdom and it needs to fall
I want you and no one else
Empty me of myself
Until the only thing that’s left is

My “castle” is my life, my pleasure, my wants.  Here I am crying out to God for more of Him, but I am more focused on me than Him.  Am I willing to let go of me in order to get more of him?

More of You
Less of me
Make me who I’m meant to be
You’re all I want all I need
You’re everything
Take it all I surrender
Be my king
God I choose
More of You and Less of me
I need more of you
More of you

Deep down I want to be all God has made me to be.  However,lately, I seem to be doing a little backsliding.  Nothing major, just a little missed devotion here, a little too much TV here, and on and on it goes.  “Take it all I surrender,”  my lips are saying it, but do I truly mean it?  God knows my heart, I can’t hide from him, but I am asking myself, “Have you picked back up things he has called you to lay down?

“Be my King.”  Man those are some powerful words.  “Be my King.”  I am going to be honest, my heart wants Jesus to be my King, but my life isn’t really showing it at the moment.  I have some work to do.

Here is what God is working out in me:

It is the little things that are getting in the way of me and a fully surrendered life.  It is a little gossip here, a few ungodly words there.  It is more time on myself than with God.  It is more time on myself than my family.  It is focusing on church problems rather than the promises of God.  It is about me reading more for pleasure than reading and growing in God’s words.  It is little things, but those little things are adding up and suddenly I find myself feeling a little distant from God.

More of Him, means less of me, it really is that simple.

Galatians 2:20 (NKJ): I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.

How about you?  What do you need to lay down in order to have more room for God?

Be blessed and be a blessing,

Missy

Leave a Reply

