31 Days of Worship and The Word: Day 9: Fall in Love with Jesus

The song of the day is More Like Falling in Love by Jason Gray.

When I first heard this song I hated it.  I mean a song about falling in love with Jesus just came off as corny, very corny.  Little did I know just how true the words of this song really were.

Give me rules
I will break them
Show me lines
I will cross them

I need more than
A truth to believe
I need a truth that lives
Moves and breathes

This was me.  I would break rules simply to break  rules.  I crossed lines simply because there were lines.  I didn’t believe the Bible actually worked in real life.

[Well, it didn’t work in my life because I refused to live by it.  Anyway, that is for another time.]

Give me words
I’ll misuse them
Obligations
I’ll misplace them

‘Cause all religion
Ever made of me
Was just a sinner
With a stone tied to my feet

It never set me free,

The difference between religion and relationship is vast.

Religion says you have to do something; sets up rules and limitations.

Relationship says you do something because you want to do it.

It is our human nature, our flesh, that instinctively wants to “buck the system.”  Religion sets us up for failure because we cannot follow the will of God in our own strength.  Will power will never lead you to a victorious life in Christ.   Holy Spirit leads us to a victorious life in Christ and you cannot operate in the full strength of Holy Spirit without having a relationship with Christ.

There are many people today in the church who are just going through the motions, doing what they have always done because somewhere along the way someone gave them a list of Christians’ do’s and don’ts.

There are many people who refuse to come to church because they stay focused on what they cannot do if they go to church. They only see what they have to give up.(Of course, this is not the only reason they don’t come,)

Once I became a Christian (saved) I thought my life would magically change.  I was waiting on God to just change me.  I was waiting on God to take all my selfish wants, desires away.  I was waiting on my desire to sin to just disappear.   Needless to say, I was kept waiting for a long time.

Don’t get me wrong, I tried to follow the script.  I went to church every time the doors were opened, and I wanted to be there.  I tried very hard to follow the list of do’s and don’ts.  But when I failed, I was extremely disappointed in myself, which led to anger.  I would look at others and they seemed to nail the Christian life, why was I struggling so hard?  What was wrong with me?  Am I just not cut out for this?

I stayed there for many years.  At times my anger got the best of me and I walked away, not physically but emotionally.

What changed?

I fell in love with Christ.  I sought a relationship with Him.

it’s gotta be

More like falling in love
Than something to believe in
More like losing my heart
Than giving my allegiance

Caught up, called out
Come take a look at me now
It’s like I’m falling, oh
It’s like I’m falling in

Love, love, love
Deeper and deeper, it was
Love that made me a believer

In more than a name
A faith, a creed
Falling in love with Jesus brought
The change in me

Come on you know how it is when you love someone.

It is easier to live unselfishly out of love than law.

There is no doubt that my love for Christ changed me.  I am a different person.  Jesus works.  The Bible works.  We just have to be willing to do some of the work.  We have to be willing to make the choices.

My romance with God started with reading my Bible.  Yes, I know that sounds like a cliché or something, but it is true.  I read the Bible and I read books by Lysa TerKeurst and Beth Moore.  The more I got to know God, the more I wanted to know more.

I began to speak with Him more and more.  I came to him honestly sharing all my hurts, doubts, fears.  I laid everything out on the table.  If I was angry I told him.  If I wanted explanations I asked.  I talked to Him just like I talked with anyone else.  I was thinking about investing in a bumper sticker that said:

I’m not crazy, I’m talking with God.

I found a group of people who were just as eager to be with the Lord and study His Word.  I would have been at my church 24 hours a day if I could have.  (Okay, at this point I still felt most connected with God when I was at church or surrounded by other believers.)

Why?  Because I was in love.  You remember that feeling I’m sure.  You want to be around your love 24/7.  You can’t get enough.

Loving God is having a relationship with God, which leads to living for God and develops a greater desire to please the Lord than please ourselves.  

For some of you this seems like just an ideal, but it is true and it is possible.  It starts with seeking the Lord.  Today, if you haven’t yet fallen in love with the Lord, I ask that you start seeking.  Read His Word.  Read other blogs.  Read books.  Sit down and have it out with Him.  Do something to seek him today, and tomorrow do it again.

Matthew 22:37- (NKJ)-Jesus said to him, “‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’[d] 38 This is the first and great commandment.

Be blessed and be a blessing,

Missy

 

Leave a Reply

