31 Days of Worship and the Word: Day 8: Wake Up!

Today’s worship song is The Anthem by Jesus Culture

The song’s title suits it very well (come on, we all know a few song with titles that don’t make sense.)  This really should be our anthem!

I can hear the footsteps of my King
I can hear His heartbeat beckoning
In my darkness He has set me free
And now I hear the Spirit calling me

Wake up child
It’s your time to shine
You were born for such a time as this

I heard this calling for the better part of a year or so.  I knew the time was drawing closer for me to quit my job and be available for more ministry.  I knew it was the next step into my calling.  I am not going to lie, there was fear and there was doubt about the timing.  I wanted the situation to be perfect for my leaving, God wanted me to have faith.  Guess who won?

As I quit my job a few weeks ago, I guess you all know that God got his way.  My need to be in God’s will was more important to me than my finances.  And the truth be told, I felt God telling me :

“It is time, time to step into your calling.  You were made for this.”

This is the anthem of our generation
Here we are God, shake our nation
All we need is Your love
You captivate me

I am royalty
I have destiny
I have been set free
I’m gonna shape history

Too many Christian lives are wasted on the sidelines.  We say we believe in God, we do truly believe, but a lot of us don’t know what to do with our belief.  We go to church; we raise our families in church; we do all the proper things Christians should do, day after day.  All the while knowing there is something more.  We should be doing more.  But just what else should we doing?

“I’m not going oversees, that is for missionaries.  I’m not called to be a missionary.”

“I can’t preach or teach.  I’m not good enough.  I’m not holy enough.  After all, there is a church full of people who will tell you I’m not qualified.”

“Holy Spirit?  That kind of stuff ended when the Bible was complete.  I don’t want to be one of those people.”

Each of these is something I have said at one time or another.

I know what it is like to know Christ, but not know what to do with Him.

What changed in my life?  How did I go from knowing Christ to living for Christ?  I fell in love with him.  [To know more about that I ask that you come back tomorrow as I found the perfect song to go with it.]

Anyway……some may be wondering what I found when I quit my job………I found………….domestic life and servant hood.

If this was a live audience, this is where we would hear disappointed sighs.  Not what you were thinking huh?

No, but it was what I was hoping for.

I wanted to be on the front-lines.  I wanted to get down in the ditches.  For years, I had been longing to be a better wife and mother.  I wanted to make lunches for my husband and to keep up with the house and laundry.  I wanted to be home when my kids got off the bus with a snack waiting.  I wanted to go on the field trips.  I wanted to be the one working at our downtown mission.  I wanted to make connections with the people we are trying to help.  I wanted to be hands on.

It may not sound glamorous and it is not.  But it is fulfilling.  Why?

 Because I am doing the work of the Lord.  My name my not be in lights.  People may not be lining up around the block to buy my next book, but I am doing the work God has for me right now.

Is this my calling?  Not fully, but it is the next step.  This work will build into my calling.

What is my calling?  Oh, I have only talked about this with a very few because I know I’m bound to hear all the reasons why it won’t work or why I shouldn’t do it.  Also, it kind of sounds arrogant to say, “I’m called.”

Well, here goes nothing:

At this point God has revealed that I will go into the field and reach the unreachable.  The ones that would rather slit my throat than talk to me.  Not only will I try to teach them, I will live among them.  I will somehow be a part of their community.  I will try to teach them how to live Godly lives where they are.  No, I don’t know how that is going to work or when it will happen, but I do know that what I am doing now is an important part of what I will be doing in the future.

How do I know?

I hear God.  He is calling me.  It is my time to step into my calling.  How about you?  Is God calling to you?  Were you made for such as a time as this?  Are you called to shape history?

Sounds arrogant to say “yes,” but it is true.  If you are a Christian, a Christ follower, you are called to shape history.  You are called for such a time as this.

Scripture of the Day:

Ester 4:14 (NKJ)-14 For if you remain completely silent at this time, relief and deliverance will arise for the Jews from another place, but you and your father’s house will perish. Yet who knows whether you have come to the kingdom for such a time as this?”

Have a blessed day,

Missy

2 thoughts on “31 Days of Worship and the Word: Day 8: Wake Up!

  1. I have missed your blog. I am praying for you and your family. Being in God’s will is the best life on this earth. Earnestly seeking Him is what we are all called to do and I can see in the time I was out of pocket in our family’s service call your hunger and passion for the Word is blossoming.
    I have loved being home for my husband and children for the past 24 plus years. I knew He called me home and I am thankful my Sweet Husband also was called for this ministry in our home. Now as almost all of our children are grown my ministry is changing. (1 last child is still homeschooled but is old enough to work more independently.) I still have a call for home and family….but I can spend more time out of our home and share more the light of Christ. I am not hurrying home to get all done. 🙂
    This is a wonderful time in your journey! Do not be discouraged when difficulties come as they can with change. Our Lord guides and teaches in every step of the way. Keep seeking and serving the Lord well Dear Friend….Col 3:2….walking in Him is like no other walk in this world!! 🙂 He loves you so.

Leave a Reply

