31 Days of Worship: Day 7: What is a Surrendered Life?

The Worship Song of the Day: My Heart is Yours by Kristian Stanfill

As some of you may recall, I was raised in a Methodist Church and I have believed in God my whole life.  Sadly, as I never heard the term “Salvation Prayer” until my late teens, early twenties, I didn’t become “saved” until much later.  Even sadder, once I became saved,  I stayed stuck for many, many years.

I always knew there was something more, something I was missing, I just couldn’t seem to find it.  Then I met a group of people who were all excited about this “Holy Spirit” and I began to seek, I mean whole- heartedly seek.  I didn’t know if what these people said was true, but I sure wanted to find out.

One of the things I learned is that I must surrender my life to Christ.  Surrender my life to Christ?  Didn’t I do that when I asked Jesus into my heart?  No!

I give You my life
I give You my trust
Jesus
You are my God
You are enough
Jesus

My heart is Yours
My heart is Yours
Take it all
Take it all
My life in Your hands

I lay down my life
And take up my cross
Jesus
For You are my God
Whatever the cost
Jesus
For You, Jesus

When we are surrendered to God, it is His will that dominates and guides our lives.  Every decision we make is made according to the Word of God.  We lay down our lives, our wants, wills, and desires to pick up the cross.  In other words, we do what God wants and not what we want.  AND…..we do it freely or because we want to.

Hmmm…religion is when we do something because we have to, surrender is when we do something because we want to.

All to Jesus I surrender
All to You I freely give
I will ever love and trust You
In Your presence I will live

We will never step into the full power of Holy Spirit until we are first surrendered to God.  Fully surrendered.  Now, there are a lot of us who may think we are surrendered but are not.  We can’t be surrendered to God in some ways and not others.  Not to say that we have to be perfect.  No, just willing to lay down what ever he asks us to lay down.

How do we know what we need to lay down?

Look at the Word of God.  Make sure we are following His ways.  For example, let go of sex outside of marriage.  If you are living with someone who is not your husband or wife, get married now or move out.  I think you know where I am going.  We must let go of our sins.  Yes, Jesus  died for our sins, but upon our salvation we were not expected to keep on sinning, but sadly many of us do.

Romans 6:1-7(NKJ):  

What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin that grace may abound? Certainly not! How shall we who died to sin live any longer in it? Or do you not know that as many of us as were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into His death? Therefore we were buried with Him through baptism into death, that just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life.  For if we have been united together in the likeness of His death, certainly we also shall be in the likeness of His resurrection, knowing this, that our old man was crucified withHim, that the body of sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves of sin. For he who has died has been freed from sin

Here’s where I would begin with all of this: I would ask God where He would like you to start.  There may be many things you must change and maybe not all can happen overnight.  Go to God and the Spirit of God will guide you.

To be fully surrendered we must get over ourselves!

                                              Scripture of the Day: 

Galatians 2:20  (NKJ)- I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.

When we accept Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior our lives as we know them are over.  From this point on we are to live solely for Christ; we are to pick up our cross and follow Him.  Plain and simple.

If you would have asked me two years ago if this was possible I would have said

“No, it is a pipe dream, a wishful thought. ”

I was a selfish person (and still am in many ways) and I would have never thought I could do this let alone want to live for Christ.  It sounded so boring to me.  But I have never been more happy.  Yes, there are times my flesh rises up.  Yes, there are times when I screw up.  Yes, there are even times when I go against what I know is right.  But know this, I don’t feel right about it.  I always have to go back and make it right.  Why?  Because when you are surrendered to God, you cannot help but to always want to be in His will.

I encourage you all to listen to this song throughout your day.  I promise it will make a difference.

Have a blessed day,

Missy

 

 

Leave a Reply

