31 Days of Worship: Day Three: Need To Breathe (The Rest of the Story)

I know this is a little later than expected, but God did a little flip on me this morning.

Multiply by NeedtoBreathe has been on my heart now for weeks and weeks.  I LOVE this song and I wasn’t really sure why this song spoke to me so much.  Well, I wasn’t sure until this morning.

Let me digress a moment, the purpose of my 31 Day Challenge is to worship God and learn His word, but I don’t want it to be the same ol’ same every day.  Today I felt called to take a closer look at the song Multiply, which then led me to take a closer look at the band Needtobreathe.  Before we get into that, let us first worship our God.

I could listen to this song all day as it just awakens my soul.

“God of mercy
Sweet love of mine
I have surrendered to your design
may this offering stretch across the sky
And these hallelujahs be multiplied.”

Oh, I love it.  God is our sweet love, and we are supposed to surrender to His will.  I know my life has never been the same since I surrendered to the Lord.

Before today I didn’t know much about the band Needtobreathe, but I have always found their songs to be honest and real.  They don’t just throw a bunch of Christian ease at you, but are just real and authentic.  There is so much truth to the fact what we have to offer to the Lord will never be enough and we do need God to multiply our offering.

Bo from Need to Breathe said in an interview on KSWP,

““The first line from my favorite hymn sings these words: ‘The Love of God is greater far than tongue or pen can ever tell.’ If we spent the rest of our life singing Hallelujahs, it still wouldn’t amount to what God truly deserves,” -http://www.kswp.org/wp/the-story-behind-multiplied/

When I hear Multiply, it makes me want to sing God’s praises all day long!

Psalm 103: 1-5 (NKJ)-

Bless the Lord, O my soul; And all that is within me, bless His holy name! Bless the Lord, O my soul, And forget not all His benefits: Who forgives all your iniquities, Who heals all your diseases, Who redeems your life from destruction, Who crowns you with loving kindness and tender mercies, Who satisfies your mouth with good things, So that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

I could end my post here, but I think there is more to tell.  Now, for those of you new to my blog , I am in a Christian band.  (I’m the bass player if you are curious.)  Therefore, I know that there is more that goes on behind the scenes than in front of them, so I appreciate when a band is open and honest about their struggles, not just in their personal walk with God but their struggles in their bands.

Let’s face it, while we are Christians and supposed to always walk in the Spirit, we are also human and squabbles and hurt feelings happen.  An important part of being in a band or close net group is overcoming those mishaps and fights (yes, sometimes there are fights-shocking I know) to do what we are called to do-share the gospel (through word and song).

Evidently after the success of their former Album, The Reckoning, a major crossover album that led to a tour with Taylor Swift, Needtobreathe fell on some hard times, mostly struggles within the band.   Their drummer, Joe, even left the band.  I tip my hat to these guys because of quitting and throwing in the towel, they got back to their roots and focused on Christ.  Multiply may very well be their first “worship” song.

“At the end of last year, the release of their tour documentary Prove the Poets Wrong broke the silence with an unflinching glimpse into the true story of Needtobreathe’s past few years. Though in the midst of the most commercial success of their career, the band was falling apart inside. “-http://www.jesusfreakhideout.com/

Yes, the video above is a little long, but for those  involved in music ministry, it is worth y our time.

I will admit I was surprised to find them so honest and open.  It is not easy to share your mess with the world and open yourself up to criticism.  And there will be criticism.  There will be people who say if they are really “spirit-filled” or such there wouldn’t be that many arguments or fights.  I would say those people haven’t been in a band before.

I for one was more than grateful that they shared their mess.  Fighting and disagreements are dirty little secrets in Christian music.  Sometimes we forget just how much God can work in our imperfections.

Yes, Needtobreathe’s band struggles are not ideal.   Yes, they should be “practicing what they preach and walking in the Spirit, loving their neighbors as themselves.   We know it; they know it. But God is still using their mess, their imperfections, to move others closer to Him.  He is using them despite all the reasons why they are not worthy.  Why?  One, God uses imperfect people all the time, just look at His disciples.  Secondly, they are willing.  They are willing to devout their talents, time, resources, and lives to God.  Now some would say that they are in it for the fame and money.  I would strongly disagree.  As they have proven before, they could easily crossover and go to the other side (the dark side-hehe).  There is a lot more fame and money on that side of the fence.

I truly believe they got  a glimpse of the dark side and didn’t like it, and,therefore, have decided to stay true to their calling.  Multiply is evidence that they have taken a look their mistakes, learned from them, and now are coming back to their roots and drawing closer to Christ.

Have a blessed day and I hope you’ll join me tomorrow.  I am not sure where God will lead me next, but I’m excited to find out.

Missy

 

 

Leave a Reply

