31 Days of Worship & The Word: Day One: Praise Him!!!

GETTING

Today begins the  31 Days Challenge (f/k/a Nester’s 31 Day Challenge).  For more information on this challenge, please visit http://write31days.com/.

As I shared yesterday, I feel like the devil has been getting the best of me lately.  My eyes seem to be on me, my problems, and my enemies.  Satan has succeeded in the last few weeks in rendering me ineffective for the cause of Christ by keeping me distracted.

I know that in order to overcome Satan, my own selfishness, laziness, and ignorance, I must keep my eyes on Christ.  In order for me to keep my eyes on Christ, I must take time to worship and study His word.

In Lysa TerKeurst’s book Becoming More Than a Good Bible Study Girl, she shares that where there is praise, there is God, and where there is God, there is no Satan.  So, when we feel the “grumpies” coming on or we feel under attack, we should just stop and praise.  Praise God, it really is that simple.  For those of you doubting, I ask you to try it.  I think it will surprise you just how fast this works.

It is my hope that you will read a post in this series every day this month.  I want you to wake up praising God.  I am curious to see what God will do in my own life if I wake up everyday and first sing His praises.  If you join me, I would love to see how it works in your life.

Today I chose Praise Him by The David Crowder Band.  This one may be a little older, but it still speaks to my soul.  Wherever you are, I ask that you stop and take the time right now to worship in song.  Right now, stop reading and start praising!

Okay, now that our souls have been awakened, let’s look at another great weapon against Satan(and our own selves): The Word.  If you recall, Jesus used to scripture to fight off Satan’s temptations.

Luke 4:1-13 (NIV):

Jesus, full of the Holy Spirit, left the Jordan and was led by the Spirit into the wilderness, where for forty days he was tempted[a] by the devil. He ate nothing during those days, and at the end of them he was hungry.

The devil said to him, “If you are the Son of God, tell this stone to become bread.”

Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man shall not live on bread alone.’[b]

The devil led him up to a high place and showed him in an instant all the kingdoms of the world. And he said to him, “I will give you all their authority and splendor; it has been given to me, and I can give it to anyone I want to. If you worship me, it will all be yours.”

Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Worship the Lord your God and serve him only.’[c]

The devil led him to Jerusalem and had him stand on the highest point of the temple. “If you are the Son of God,” he said, “throw yourself down from here. 10 For it is written:

“‘He will command his angels concerning you
    to guard you carefully;
11 they will lift you up in their hands,
    so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.’[d]

12 Jesus answered, “It is said: ‘Do not put the Lord your God to the test.’[e]

13 When the devil had finished all this tempting, he left him until an opportune time.

I know memorizing scripture is tough, so we will do it in little doses.  Since “praise” seems to be the theme of the day, I say we start there.

Psalm 117: 1-2: Praise the Lord, all you nations; extol him, all you peoples.  For great is his love toward us, and the faithfulness of the Lord endures forever.  Praise the Lord.

Add a little bit of body text

 

Be blessed and be a blessing,

Missy

One thought on “31 Days of Worship & The Word: Day One: Praise Him!!!

  1. There are a few areas of my life I have become lazy in too. I have not been eating as healthy or exercising as regularly as I was two years ago and it shows! I imagine in the spirit realm when we don’t feed on the word and exercise our spirits in praise our souls end up carrying around baggage they were never created to carry. I am doing a week long challenge from another blogger not to complain this week. I am excited to see God move as my praise goes up unhindered by bouts of complaining. Nice post! I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

