My God is Greater

I’ m not going to lie; this week has been ROUGH!

My daughter got her first broken heart.  Let me just say,  those who say your first broken heart is the hardest are not telling the truth.  Your daughter’s first broken heart is the absolute hardest.  I don’t think I have ever felt more useless.

On top of that my daughter’s childhood best friend was involved in a car accident involving a fatality.  Now, the best friend is doing much better and is expected to make a full recovery, but her passenger lost his life.  Two families forever changed.  Words here would do no justice to the situation and I ask for continued prayers for both families.

It is our natural tendency in times such as these to pull away from God, but He wants just the opposite.

Bring your tired; Bring your shame; Bring your guilt; Bring your pain; Don’t you know that’s not your name; You will always be much more to me.

Our hurts matter to God.  My daughter’s heartbreak matters to God.  The loss of child matters to God.  Right now I know He is holding my daughter’s broken heart in His hands,  and He is carefully putting the pieces back together.  I know He is at Nicole’s  bedside right this very minute.  I know He has his arms around the family of AJ and he will not let go.  I may not understand it; I may not ever understand it.  But I do know my God has got this.

I am learning to run freely, understanding just how He sees me, and it makes me love Him more and more; He’s greater; He’s greater.

Learning to trust in God when our circumstances shout otherwise is not easy.  But scripture does not  tell us there won’t be hard times, it just says God won’t leave us during those hard times.

“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they will not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be scorched, Nor will the flame burn you. Isaiah 43:2

Yes, the world would have me believe that after the week I have had,  I should be wallowing in hurt and pain.  But just as the song says,

There’ll be days I lose the battle; Grace says that it doesn’t matter‘; Cause the cross already won the war; He’s greater ; He’s greater.

My God is greater than ANYTHING.  Yes, there will be bad days.  There will be hurt.  Their will be pain.  But God will always be there and that is reason enough to sing and praise Him!

So , yes, today I will sing.  Today I will worship.  Despite all pain, despite all circumstances, I WILL PRAISE MY GOD!!!

Have a blessed day,

Missy

 

 

Leave a Reply

