Satan, The King of Camouflage

I just wanted to add one last thing to generational sin. Satan.

Yes, while our choice to sin are more often than not the cause of our bondage, the devil is prowling like a lion looking for someone to devour (1 Peter 5:8).

Yes, Satan is real. Yes, Satan will tempt us. But we have to be real careful here. We can’t be quick to blame everything on the devil, when our choices have led us down the rabbit hole. Now that being said, we must guard ourselves against demonic attacks and make sure we are not participating in activities or making choices that give Satan a foothold. Come on, you know what I mean.

[As I have shared before, I am heavily influenced by what I read. If I get to reading too much in the secular genre, I can find myself with a distant relationship with God. Is it due to what I am reading or is it the amount of time I’m reading? Well, it is a little bit of both. I love mysteries; however, if I tend to read dark mysteries I can find myself contemplating too much on the dark side of life, which can put me in a down cast mood. I like books with a little romance (not too much and none of that detailed harlequin stuff), but if I’m not careful, I can find myself dissatisfied with my own life. This is not generational sin, but rather a potential foothold for me (I realize it is not for everyone else).]

Satan can be forthcoming and attack us straight on; however, in my life Satan is not so obvious. In Breaking Free, Beth Moore points out that the devil is the King of Camouflage.

“Generational yokes often go undetected because they bled in so well with our personalities. We excuse some of these yolks as simply being the way we are. We might even say, “My mother was like this and so was hers! We’re just outspoken women who know their minds!”

Today I challenge you to take a long, honest look at yourself. Is there sin in your life that Satan or yourself has camouflaged as a personality trait?

Are you bossy? Are you independent? Are you afraid? Do you lack compassion for others?

Then, because the sins of the father increase the vulnerability of the children to 3rd and 4th generations (Exodus 20:5), reflect on your parents and grandparents.

We are not trying to play the blame game as we are all responsible for our own actions and our choices to carry on in sin. However, the goal is recognize sin as sin so we can break free of all bondage, even if it has been unnoticed or camouflaged.

Be blessed and be free!

Missy

One thought on “Satan, The King of Camouflage

Leave a Reply

