Be Careful Little Eyes What You See

Last week we talked about generational sins and how sin can be passed from one generation to the next. We discussed whether this was a curse from God or deliberate choice to sin. I came down on the side of choice.

Today, I just feel called to remind us that our children are indeed watching us. What we do, how we choose to live, will have a great impact on the lives of our children.

In Breaking Free, Beth Moore shares a very telling story from It’s Always Something by Gilda Radner:

“When I was little, my nurse Dibby’s cousin had a dog, just a mutt, and the dog was pregnant. I don’t know how long dogs are pregnant, but she was due to have her puppies in about a week. She was out in the yard one day and got in the way of the lawn mower and her two hind legs got cut off. They rushed her to the vet and he said, “I can sew her up, or you can put her to sleep if you want, but the puppies are okay. She’ll be able to deliver the puppies.

Dibby’s cousin said, ‘Keep her alive.”

So the vet sewed up her backside, and over the next week the dog learned to walk. She didn’t spend any time worrying, she just learned to walk by taking two steps in the front and flipping up her backside, and then taking two steps and flipping up her backside again. She gave birth to six little puppies, all in perfect health. She nursed them and then weaned them. And when they learned to walk, they all walked liked her.”

This may seem oversimplistic to some, but for me, this story illustrates just how much influence we have over our children. This can be good, but it can also be bad, real bad.

I’m then reminded of an old children’s song. [It may seem kind of silly, but some of the best messages I have ever heard were directed at children. My pastor gives great children’s sermons and I often come away contemplating the kids’ sermon just as much (and sometimes more) as I do the one geared toward us adults]:

O be careful little eyes what you see,
O be careful little eyes what you see
For the Father up above
He’s looking down in love,
So, be careful little eyes what you see.

If we want to end generational sin, then we must choose differently than those who have gone before us. We need to set better examples for our children. We must always remember they are watching us. We need to be the people we want them to be.

I pray for you all to have a great week and I look forward to sharing with you all again tomorrow!

God bless,
Missy

5 thoughts on “Be Careful Little Eyes What You See

  1. Good post. I believe that it goes even deeper than just what they see too. About six years ago I backslid for several months into some things that my child knew nothing about and didn’t witness but I realized looking back how I opened doors for demonic influence on him. There is no doubt in my mind that my private sinful choices negatively affected him. He paid a high price for my sin. Thankfully, I turned back to God and He was gracious. Over time we have both walked out of the consequences of that time in my life.

    1. Unfortunately, I believe your are correct Emily. This one was hard concept for me to grasp and made me realize just how much my decisions effect those around me. Glad to see things have turned around for you and thankful you aren’t wasting time on past regrets. God Bless!

  2. While I agree with you that we should model what we want for our children. I also believe we do a disservice when we shelter them to much. When we try to portray that we do the right things all the time, or that we don’t get real with them about our human condition. The fact of the matter is none of us will EVER do everything right. We are human, and that is where we end and God begins. All good things we do are because He works in our lives. But our flesh is still weak and imperfect and we should allow our children to know that that’s ok. And that they are not less worthy or let them believe that God loves them less because they will spend their lives messing up. God has blessed me, dispute my ugly sinful nature. And I know that He will continue to. That is not something I feel I was taught as a child, and it’s taken me a long time to truly grasp as an adult. God loves me. I WILL fail today and tomorrow on some level, but as long as I stay focused on Him HE will change me and it starts from the inside out. Great post!! Stopping some of the family cycles going around is one tough challenge and it takes a lot of conscious thought and choices. Be blessed!!

    1. Leading by example does not mean we will always make right choices or decisions the first time around. Teaching our kids to say sorry or owning up to mistakes are invaluable lessons. Once again, the best way to teach them these things is to show them with our own actions. My children know I’m not perfect, but they have also seen me humble myself and apologize, not only to them or my husband, but friends and others in our community. They have also seen me make mistakes and yes, seen me sin. But once again, I had to show them what to do from there. It is not about perfection. It is about showing them how to walk this life with God and in God’s ways. Thanks for your comments. Have a blessed day!

      1. I absolutely agree!! I’m sorry if I came across harsh. I have just experienced a lot if people who forget to help their kids learn about the your can’t be perfect side. Anyway, what a great example you are. God bless you!!

Leave a Reply

