Find Your Purpose in Isaiah 61

broken-chains

There are so many of us out there looking for our purpose. Could it be that our purposes is right in front of our face and yet we are refusing to see or recognize it.

Isaiah 61:1-4 (NLT): “The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon Me,
Because the LORD has anointed Me
To preach good tidings to the poor;
He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted,
To proclaim liberty to the captives,
And the opening of the prison to those who are bound;
2 To proclaim the acceptable year of the LORD,
And the day of vengeance of our God;
To comfort all who mourn,
3 To console those who mourn in Zion,
To give them beauty for ashes,
The oil of joy for mourning,
The garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness;
That they may be called trees of righteousness,
The planting of the LORD, that He may be glorified.”
4 And they shall rebuild the old ruins,
They shall raise up the former desolations,
And they shall repair the ruined cities,
The desolations of many generations.

Yes, I know, we can’t all work as missionaries or in the ministry. Let this be a reminder to look for ways in your current surroundings, current situation to build God’s Kingdom here on earth. It is not easy. I know this. I live it too. My job is anything but Christ-centered. My office is anything but Christ-centered. I would like a new job, one in ministry. I want to serve God all day long and get paid to do it. Good news, I can do that. I can do it in my current position. I can bring Christ to work with me everyday. I can make Him apart of everything I do. I believe God will not move me along in my ministry until I learn and do this exact thing.

Is it easy? No. Can it be done. Yes.

A better question would be, “are you willing to do it?

So, I’m asking today, are you willing to take Jesus to work with you? Are you willing to look for ways to serve God in your everyday mundane tasks?

Have a Jesus-filled day!

Missy

2 thoughts on “Find Your Purpose in Isaiah 61

    1. Sorry, I took the month of December off. No, this is not something I created. I believe this is the one sent to me by a friend. I am not sure where she got it.

Leave a Reply

