Are You Satisfied?

Are you satisfied in Jesus Christ?

It seems like such a simple question; one that requires little thought before answering. However, I want you to take a moment to think about it.

Wait! Some of you may be wondering what it means to be “satisfied in Jesus Christ.” I could give you a long complicated and very thorough answer, but today I feel like keeping it simple.

In Beth Moore’s book Breaking Free, Beth explains that one of the Hebrew words used in the Scriptures for satisfaction is “sob’ah,” which means to have enough, be full…sufficiently. Another Hebrew word used for satisfy in the Bible is “male,” which means to fill, accomplish the filling of something that was empty…the act of replenishment.

Therefore, I believe that “being satisfied in Jesus Christ” means that we allow Christ to fill us, look to Christ for the fulfillment of all our needs.

Now, most of us know this is what we “should” do, but do we actually do it? Do we look to God alone for our satisfaction?

In Chapter 5 of Beth Moore’s book Breaking Free she takes a long hard look at satisfaction. She states that there is a strong correlation between captivity and the lack of satisfaction in Christ. Captivity as defined by Beth is “anything that hinders the abundant and effective Spirit-filled life God planned for him or her.”

So what she is saying is that our lack of satisfaction in Christ hinders the life God has planned for us.

“We can easily be led into captivity by seeking other answers to needs and desires that only God can meet. We try our best to ignore empty places or try to fill them with something other than God. “(p.38)

When I think of this I am reminded of what I used to think about Christianity: “Christians are boring and God just sucks the fun out of everything!” Sounds harsh I know, but many, many people fill this way. They are looking for fun and excitement to fill their empty places. They could never imagine that they could be happy or content living according to the Bible. Why? They have never felt satisfied in Christ before as they have always looked at people, things, money, activities, and such to bring them happiness and fulfillment.

Beth admits that full satisfaction with God or in Christ doesn’t necessarily come at salvation. I would venture to say most of us don’t or didn’t experience full satisfaction the moment of salvation.

“There is a difference between salvation from sin and satisfaction of soul (p.38). Salvation secures our lives for eternity. Soul satisfaction ensures abundant life on earth. (p. 38).

Satisfaction in Christ takes work on our end. It takes us committing to walk in obedience to the Lord (live our lives according to the Bible), learning to trust God (even when things aren’t going right) and going to him with everything and for everything.

Psalm 63: My soul thirsts for You; My flesh longs for You. In a dry and thirsty land
Where there is no water. 2 So I have looked for You in the sanctuary, To see Your power and Your glory.

In order to find satisfaction, we must seek God. We can’t seek Him if we are busying ourselves with the world and worldly stuff. Just as we physically thirst and hunger, we spiritually thirst and hunger. We need to be just as deligant in feeding our spiritual hunger and quenching our spiritual thirst as we are the physical needs. I know it sounds corny, but it is true. Do you hear the passion in Psalm 63? We should have that passion for our Savior. If we don’t, we need to keeping working at it.

Once again, I’m sounding so Serious! Yikes. I don’t mean to sound so boring and stiff, it is just that I have found that full satisfaction in Christ and I want everyone to experience it, but I know many won’t if the truth is not told to them. I think we would be surprised to know just how many Christians haven’t found satisfaction in Christ and not because they didn’t want it, they just didn’t know how to get it.

Now, as I said above, I have been in a place of full satisfaction, but I am honestly not there right now. I have let a series of disappointments and bad choices (sin, let’s call a spade a spaded) separate me from God. I have lost the joy of seeking Him. Lately it seems like I’m on a treadmill, doing a lot of running, but never going anywhere. I haven’t sought Him as hard as I have in the past because of my discouragement, and as I turned to other things for the satisfaction I had been receiving in Christ, I began to make some not-so-godly decisions and choices. Nothing major, but I can clearly see why Beth says that dissatisfaction leads to captivity as my sins clearly have separated me from God a good bit and hindered me from being the woman God made me to be. It is not that I can’t get it back, I can, I just have to choose to seek God and pursue godly interests rather than pout over my disappointments. In truth, it doesn’t matter what I choose to do with my time because if it is not seeking God, I will find no satisfaction in it. Neither will you.

God is speaking to me today, I hope somewhere in this mess you found a bit of encouragement. Maybe, just maybe, you picked up a word or two.

Be blessed and be a blessing,
Missy

Leave a Reply

